happy birthday sis!

Today is my sister’s birthday.  I love her lots and wish her the best birthday!  She is a wonderful sister.

We’re pretty close in age, less than two years between us.  She’s the older one, and she flaunted that fact when we were kids.  At the time, I resented it.  Not so much anymore!

Being so close in age did not make us close growing up, until we reached high school.  We fought a lot as kids, but we shared a lot of fun, too.  It was nice to have a playmate always there.  I could never imagine growing up an only child.

As we grew older, we went on double dates, got into trouble together, and shared our deepest, darkest secrets with each other.  But our lives have taken different paths.

We don’t live close to each other anymore and only see each other at holiday gatherings.  I miss seeing her, but everyone’s life seems to be so busy it’s hard to find the time.  I hope to simplifying my life so I’ll have more time to visit with her, my family and friends.

We don’t talk on the phone much either.  Strange thing is, when we do, it’s like we just talked a few days ago.  Is that a sign of how close we are still?

She’s going through a rough patch right now and is having a hard time reaching out, even to her sister.  It breaks my heart to see her like this knowing there is nothing I can really do to help her.  She knows that I am here for her when she needs me, and that I always will be.

I don’t understand families that hold grudges against each other.  Life is too short for that.  I know there is always a reason behind not speaking to a family member, but my philosophy is forgive but not necessarily to always forget.

I try very hard to not hold grudges.  It’s not in my make up to do that.  I can’t imagine not speaking to my siblings or my parents no matter what they did to hurt me.  There were times when I was angry or upset with my mom, but we still talked, still kept that contact, until everything blew over.

My family is the most important thing to me.  The are my history.  They are the people who make me who I am.  They are my home, the place where I know I will always feel welcome, warm, loved, and cherished.

Happy Birthday Sis.  You ARE loved and cherished.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to happy birthday sis!

  1. Margie says:

    Wonderful post! Happy Birthday to your sister and I hope her rough patch passes very soon.

Leave a Reply

