i’m a new blogger

You probably have already figured out I’m new at this just by poking around this site.  I started this blog because, like a lot of bloggers, I’ve always dreamed of being a writer.

I'm not sure about all this newfangled blogging stuff.

When we made/updated our family goals a few weeks ago, I thought it was a good time to start blogging about reaching the beach.  Writing about our various goals and my personal goals could not only make me more accountable, but also keep me motivated.

Some goals motivate me more than others.  Paying off the credit card is very motivating, as is decluttering, and of course, having a blog that people actually enjoy reading.

Others are not as motivating such as training for my walk.  I really want to do this walk and one would think that wanting to would be motivation enough.  Problem is, I hate to exercise.  With the weather being so cold, I am relegated to the treadmill for walking.  That seems to make it exercise, whereas taking Willow for a walk is fun.  Walking outside in general is fun, but I just can’t handle the temperature right now regardless of how much I bundle up.

Some goals: meditating, learning Italian, working on my family tree, are not as motivating right now because of the time factor.  They’re in the back of my mind, but I am comfortable with spending the down time I have decluttering and writing.

As a new blogger, I sometimes feel my mind wanders off topic.  I edit, read, edit, read, and edit a few more times before I post.  Half of what I originally write before the first edit usually doesn’t make the final cut, mostly due to wandering off topic!  I still seem to wander a bit and need to learn how to fix that.

I try to look at my posts from the point of view of an anonymous reader.  Would I enjoy reading this if I hadn’t written it?  Does this actually have something to say to people?  At this point in my blogging, it’s hard to know.

I continue to read a lot of blogs to see how they are written.  To see what about them makes people want to come back for more posts.  That has been helping me.

As a new blogger, I love not only comments, but comments that also can teach me to be a better blogger.  Constructive criticism.  I would be much obliged if you would leave a comment.

This entry was posted in goals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to i’m a new blogger

  1. tamaracorine says:

    I like your layout – it’s pretty!
    And all bloggers like comments – they brighten my day, I know that much.
    Just wanted to say welcome to the world of blogging & it’s nice to have you!

  2. Hi,

    Sometimes blogs are not just about words.

    I am subscribed to your blog by email as one of your buddies. I look at the title…and that is the initial hook to draw people in. So a catchy title is important. Pictures/Cartoons, I believe, make people linger a little longer. The first thing I spotted on this post was a little puddy cat sitting on your keyboard looking at a your PC screen. My next thought was I can’t see a hand keeping it there! 🙂 So I have now been on your blog 10secs, hooked by the picture. I then think. OK, what’s this post about?

    I have only been blogging a short while and it is always the visiual content and title that I look at first

    Happy Blogging!

  3. Hi,
    It is about the words but when you are an unknown writer/blogger you have to keep people on your blog long enough to read them. 🙂
    Having said that about pictures this blog http://joejimgregory.wordpress.com/
    has no pictures but his first post title was “My Blog has fleas” His posts are short and simple and today I literally laughed out loud at his latest post. I am his buddy and he does make me laugh 🙂

  4. SweetB says:

    I think you are doing a great job with your blog. I am finding that it is HARD to write something every single day.

    Margie

    • Seashell says:

      Thank you Margie! Coming from someone that writes as well as you do makes your opinion mean a lot to me. And, I agree. It is hard to come up with a topic every day.
      ~ shell

Leave a Reply

