tag, you’re it

I often wonder how many tags are enough for a blog post?  I don’t use very many tags or categories but as I tag surf, I see many posts tagged with 5, 6, or 7 tags.

Maybe I just don’t understand tag usage.  I know the tag surfer uses them.  I know that they can make it easier for a reader to search for posts on my blog with the same subject.  I even suspect they may be used by search engines, but I’m not sure.  Could this be the reason why some posts have an abundance of tags?

On that same issue, how do people find your blog other than the tag surfer?  Do they find it through other pages where you’ve left comments?  Do they find it through a search engine?

As a novice blogger, there are so many unanswered questions.  But I’m sure I’ll eventually find the answers.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to tag, you’re it

  1. joejimgregory says:

    Excellent questions Seashell. Thanks for asking them. I’ll be following along with interest as the answers come in.

    – Papa Joe

  2. melsar93 says:

    I’m definitely not an expert, but I found this blog through a comment you left on someone else’s post. Your post on your brother caught my eye and then I saw that you were a programmer so I hit the subscribe button. As a long time lurker I have decided to come out of my shell and do the postaday2011. I’ve found this has just led to me looking at other blogs more and a natural community is starting to build. I see the same users here and there – probably because we have common interests.

    • joejimgregory says:

      Makes a good picture. I’m new to this but it makes sense. Still feels like there’s more to it. But that’s a good start.

      Thanks!

      – Papa Joe

    • Seashell says:

      Thanks for subscribing! I need to check out your blog also. It’s great that you’re doing the postaday2011. I find it had to come out of my shell (ha ha) too and that’s part of the reason I started blogging. I need to find something that will help me get over my shyness with strangers.

      Welcome!
      ~ seashell

      http://20mvp.wordpress.com/wp-admin/edit-comments.php?p=474&approved=1#comments-form

    • Hi melsar93,
      We have some great buddies and we all try an help and support each other. The postaday/week challenge has been great in that it has not only encouraged us to write more but to reach out to other bloggers across the world. I see you are into cooking this is one of my passions and I post a different recipe each Friday. I have subscribed to your blog 🙂

  3. 🙂 When I read the title of your post I thought you were playing a game called(I think) Blog Tag!

  4. joejimgregory says:

    Blog tag? You’ve got me curious.

    – Papa Joe

  5. melsar93 says:

    I stumbled upon this today. It is Five ways to Get Featured on the Freshly Pressed Page. The third bullet is about including tags. Freshly Pressed

  6. Margie says:

    I am blindly finding my way through tags too. Great post!

Leave a Reply

