dillon…and not montana

Montana

The other day, I was reading a post on a blog I subscribe to.  In this post, I found someone I can really relate to.  Dillon’s thoughts very much remind me of what is going on in my head.

Demographically, we couldn’t be more different.  Male / female;  he’s a sophomore in college and college is so far behind me I can’t remember most of my professors;  he’s almost West Coast, I couldn’t get any more East Coast.

He posted a list of resolutions on January 3.  It’s not so much the resolutions themselves that I relate to, but the explanations that go with them and how closely they mirror some of my goals.

1) I want to develop a regular pattern for playing music

Okay, so I could want to develop a regular pattern for playing music.  I have a guitar and used to play it often.  Then the rest of the world got in the way.  I’m working on fixing that, but guitar isn’t as high on my regular pattern list as meditation or yoga.

I have a hard time establishing regular patterns of anything.  Something more important always seems to come up.  Like Dillon, I don’t quantify things much, which also makes it hard to set a regular pattern.  If I don’t do it today, I can do it tomorrow, because I said I only wanted to do it X amount of times a week.  The daily post is the exception, although I have no pattern as to when I write.

2) This one fits in with the first one, but here it is: I want to learn to play the violin.

Not violin, Italian.  It’s a language I’ve always wanted to learn, but it’s not something that was taught where I went to school.  I studied Spanish, so at least I can read Italian somewhat.  I have found a few online Italian lesson sites and now need to find a class or tutor.  But, this might be a little longer term goal for me.  Trying to work on the house takes precedence over spending an hour a day learning a new language.

But does that hinder my personal growth?  Do goals that have a finite end take away from the type of goals that are ongoing?

4) I want to read more this year. I love to read, but I never do.

I love to read.  I need to find the time somewhere.  Like Dillon, when I read in bed, I tend to fall asleep fairly fast.  Yet that’s when and where I usually try to read.   I could stay off the computer more, but I actually read a lot of blogs.  It is reading, after all, just not a book.

I love to read books. I’d rather read that do most anything else. It takes me to places where I can’t afford to go. It takes me to time periods I can’t experience.

I read almost any genre of books. except bodice ripping romances. I like biographies and crime books the best. I also really enjoy books that give a glimpse into the daily lives of people in a country I may never visit.  I just need to make the time to read.

5) Here’s a more generic one: I want to become a more consistent person.

I so totally get “I’m sick of starting something new and then dropping it or randomly coming back to it”.  I have a lot of scrap booking supplies but never scrap-book any more.  I have unfinished crochet projects.  I can’t seem to stick to a de-cluttering project.  Everywhere I look, unfinished projects.  I, too, need more consistency in my life.

I think the last one is what I really need to work on, although it was not one of the goals I had set for myself.  But to meet goals, consistency matters.  Going at it piecemeal will not get anyone very far, very fast.  Even with long-term goals, where fast is not a consideration, consistency is the key.

Check out Dillon’s blog and let me know how you like it.

This entry was posted in goals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to dillon…and not montana

  1. SweetB says:

    Ahhh yes, consistency! I am so terrible about starting things and never finishing. As evidenced by my lack of daily blogging! 🙂

  2. Sparkle says:

    Number 5 is a definite on my to-do list this year. Creating habits and becoming more consistent is something I want to strive toward now as opposed to waiting until the last half of the year and then deciding I need to fix things.

    Sparkle

Leave a Reply

