i’m walking 60 miles

In September, I am walking 60 miles in 3 days to raise money for the fight against breast cancer.  This is a cause that is very near and dear to me for several reasons that I’m saving for another post.

Last night was the Get Started meeting for the Susan G. Komen 3 Day for the Cure walk.  It was a phone meeting, with about 70 people from all over the United States.  It did get me a little more psyched about the walk and I learned new ideas for fund-raising.

As I was listening, I was still amazed that I will actually be doing this.  And that I am actually taking steps now, 8 months before the walk, to get ready for it.  The biggest thing I am working on now is loosing weight to make it easier for me to walk.

I have changed my diet and it is working unbelievably.  For the first time in years, I am actually losing weight!  For the most part, I am not missing the foods I’ve cut out, and I do have cravings, but I am not constantly giving in to them.

My diet change is using one of those products that offer you the meals and you supplement it with a lean meat and green veggie meal once a day.  Very little of the food tastes good, but even dropping 10 pounds so far has eased the joint pain I get from walking long distances.  That makes the food bearable.

Of course, long distances for me now are about a mile!  I hate to exercise, absolutely hate it, and that probably has to do with my weight.  I need to change, not just for the walk, but for the rest of my life.

Mr Scuba (aka my husband) is helping me.  He is not only losing weight with me but he encourages me every day – especially when I start whining!  I know that he won’t stick with the meal plan as long as I do, he has much less weight to lose, but I don’t think he’ll go back to his old way of eating anymore.  At least I hope not.

We do splurge just a little.  Last week, we had a pizza.  The key word there is ‘a’.  We usually order two and then have leftovers, which of course we eat!  So, one pizza and I ate less of it than I usually do.  And, the best part, it didn’t stop my weight loss.  Tonight, we have a birthday party to go to where I know there will be lots of food and drink.  I am not going to overeat and drinking is out of the question.  Just plain water please!

I know I can’t keep up the quick weight loss using this diet plan, especially once I start the serious training in March.  I’ll need to eat more calories as I burn more, but the increased exercise will help keep the weight loss going.  If I can get some weight off before hand, I will already be ahead of the game by making it easier to walk in general.

I never want to go back to my old eating and not exercising habits.  I am enjoying seeing the weight drop.  I will keep it off.  That’s all there is to it.

Is this my midlife crisis?

This entry was posted in goals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to i’m walking 60 miles

  1. melsar93 says:

    Maybe you know this already, but for every pound you loose that equals 4 less pounds of pressure on your knees. So losing 10 pounds has made life 40 pounds easier on your knees.

    We have a friend, Margie, who did the walk in San Diego last year and if you’d like to read her experience you can do sohere

    • Seashell says:

      Thanks Mike. I didn’t know that! I was wondering how such a small weight loss helped my joints so much.

      I’m looking forward to reading about Margie’s experience on the walk.

  2. This is great incentive to lose weight. Any cancer charity is close to my heart. I wish they had something going on like that near me. In fact…you ahve just prompted me to find out. Don’t just talk about it DO it! Well done, gal!!!

  3. Papa Joe says:

    I know many people who have been touched by this disease and who have walked for the cure. Many are the same people, survivors who understand what they are walking for better than most others can. But I don’t discount the efforts of anyone helping a noble cause. Relatives are touched very much by the effects on their loved ones.

    Good luck Seashell. And thanks for doing this. I hope your diet gives you the added benefits you’re looking for. Good luck with that too.

    – Papa Joe

    • Seashell says:

      Thanks Papa Joe. My sisters and my mom are why I am walking. One of my sisters is walking with me – a survivor! Our family is blessed that all three are/were survivors. I want to help find a cure.

      • Papa Joe says:

        All three? Does this mean that you too are a survivor? Hope that’s not too personal. I’m just bad at counting past two. 🙂

        – Papa Joe

        • Seashell says:

          No, not me Papa Joe, although it wouldn’t surprise me. My mom was a long term breast cancer survivor. Both of my sisters are survivors. 3 out of 4 women in my immediate family. I don’t know why I’ve been the lucky one so far. The Man upstairs must have different plans for me!

          • Papa Joe says:

            Good luck Seashell. None of us can know what plans are in store for us. But I know they’ll be for a good reason.

            – Papa Joe

  4. Jeremey says:

    What you are doing is awesome!

    Melony and I drastically changed our diet last January and for the most part we have stuck to it. Most meals consist of veggies in all different ways. We only eat lean meat (chicken or fish) three meals a week and beef is only allowed for one meal everyother week. The food tastes better the longer you do it and the more recipes you find. Melony has developed quite a collection of somewhere around 200-300 veggie recipes. I will ask her to send you some of our favorites.

    I stopped losing weight after a while and started gaining more muscle and now around the same weight I was when I started, but its all muscle and little fat. Maybe you will like exercising and you will become super strong-shell! or super seashell!

    • Seashell says:

      I wouldn’t mind a mostly veggie meal, but Steve likes his meat – beef is his favorite! Remind me to tell you one day about the vegetarian that was in his life and you’ll understand why we don’t do veggie meals.

      I do like the walking I’ve been doing, but the treadmill gets boring and it’s too cold to walk outside right now. I need to add some strength training soon and develop a routine. I would love to finally get in shape enough to do the P90x, but that’s a long way off. Training for the walk is my top priority!

      You’re always in my corner Jeremey. Thank you. I can’t tell you how much that means to me!

  5. Kristin says:

    That’s awesome! I walked the 5k Race for the Cure last year, and it was a lot of fun (even though it was cold). Our route went past a zoo, and they had painted a pink ribbon on an elephant and had it waving its trunk to the walkers! But the 60 miles version- wow, incredibly impressive!!!

    I think enjoying food -even less than healthy things- in moderation is the best way to go. When you completely deprive yourself of things you like, it’s much harder (see:my sugar detox of December). Good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

