wait a minute mr. postman

My five-year old grand-niece has discovered the mail.  You remember, the real mail, the snail mail.  Email isn’t in her vocabulary yet.

I am enjoying the benefits of this new discovery.  She likes to write me letters.  She also loves receiving the letters in the mail that I write to her.  I know a letter from a five-year old might not seem such a big thing to you.  To me, it is a big thing.  It’s love.  It means she is thinking about me although we live a few hours apart and I don’t get to see her as often as I want to.

It also means that she has the joy of receiving my letters.  I remember as a child I writing letters to my aunt.  She would always reply back and I just loved getting those letters.  Email cannot replace the anticipation of a letter in the mail.  Email cannot replace the joy of actually receiving a letter.  Not only for a five-year old, but for everyone that loves someone else, whether it be family member or friend.

I know eventually email will take the place of these precious letters.  Or maybe even blogging like Papa Joe does for Cassie.  For now, I’m going to treasure every letter I get and every letter I write.

Who would you like to receive a letter from today?  Better yet, whose life would you like to brighten by sending a letter today?

 

 

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to wait a minute mr. postman

  1. The Alchemist says:

    You know when I was a teenager I had a pen friends from germany and we used to write long letters to each other. She was 40 years older than I was (almost like an aunt) and I cherished them a lot. I grew up, somewhere along the way, lost touch eventually.. 😦
    Your post brought back old memories 🙂

  2. The Alchemist says:

    You know when I was a teenager I had a pen friend from germany and we used to write long letters to each other. She was 40 years older than I was (almost like an aunt) and I cherished them a lot. I grew up, somewhere along the way, lost touch eventually.. 😦
    Your post brought back old memories 🙂

  3. melsar93 says:

    In college my wife and I exchanged doezns of real letters. We were at different schools for part of that time and it is probably why we and stayed together. thinking back the letters started before we started dating so it could even be why we got together in the first place. Her letters would come with heart confetti and S.W.A.K. emblazoned on them. Try and do that with e-mail.

Leave a Reply

