frugal or crazy?

I hate spending money…seriously.  I don’t like to shop.  I have very few needs and even less wants.

So, today I have a dilemma.  To spend on something we pretty much do need or to just make do with what we have.  This all involves curtains, believe it or not.

This is the time of year that curtains are usually on sale.  My favorite store for home decorating is having a great sale, with 65% off of regular prices and a 10% savings on the total order.  Plus free shipping.

So many broken shades...

So, do I spave (spend to save)?  We have blinds on most windows, in both houses.  They are all usable,  but all are pretty much worn, broken, or torn, depending on the type of shade.  I prefer to replace them with curtains instead of new shades.

We are working on home improvements in the Richmond house.  Redecorating means new window coverings to match new colors.  The redecorating is something that has to happen so we can get ready to sell the property.  We have the colors picked out, we know what we need, so why should I be hesitating?

At the beach, the shades are incredibly beat up from years of renters who don’t care what they break.  The shades in almost every room have broken or missing slats.  We are no longer renting the house out, so why am I hesitating to replace those shade with curtains, in the rooms we use all the time?

Fancy...not my style

I like my house to look nice for scuba man and me.  The type of curtains I like aren’t the heavy, expensive drapes.  They’re not fancy.  They are just nice looking, kind of plain, thermal curtains.  They will help us save on the energy bills and add a wee bit of value to both homes.

Am I frugal or crazy?

This entry was posted in finances and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to frugal or crazy?

  1. melsar93 says:

    I know exactly how you feel. I hate spending money. Fortuantely/Unfortunately my wife balances me out nicley in this regard. I lean toward fortunately because I would probably never get anything new or nice if it wasn’t for her.

    • Seashell says:

      My husband balances me out, too. But on the home decorating stuff, it’s mostly left to me, although he is getting frustrated with all the inconveniences of broken blinds.

  2. Crazy Girl!

    Go buy your curtains in the sale otherwise in 6 months time you will regret it…and you will be saying “if only” 😦 The money you will save on energy bills also justifies the purchase.
    🙂
    PiP

    • Seashell says:

      Thanks for the encouragement PiP!

      • Can you utilise the broken blinds – so you don’t have to through them away?

        • Seashell says:

          We’ve been doing that at the beach house since we bought it, but they are beyond repair and we’ve just be living with all of the broken slats. I think you’re right. It’s time for some privacy before the tourist season arrives. Don’t want to be a tourist attraction!

          • LOL 🙂
            I was thinking outside the box – can the blinds be dismembered and reinvented as something else?
            Someone threw a vegetable rack away. I watched them take it to the bins, leave and I was there in seconds to give it a new home. :=)

            I now use it as a seed tray rack! Yes, it was old and rusty and Mr P raised his eyebrows at my rescue mission but I now have my 3 tier seed tray rack 🙂

  3. barb19 says:

    If the curtains are on sale, I would take advantage of that and buy them now. It sounds like those blinds have had their day now anyway, so go on, do it – you will be happy you did!

    • Seashell says:

      I think frugality won out this time. After discussing it last night, we decided to wait until the credit card was paid off, which should be by the end of summer if my sweet Willow can stay healthy!

  4. Oh well…there will be sales next January 🙂

  5. ..and a postive attitude 🙂

Leave a Reply

