the hidden vampire

My computer is a total time sucker.  At times I even feel like it is sucking the life right out of me.  I need to check out how I can schedule my posts in advance and see if I can experiment a little.

What I would like to do is take a day every once in a while and be computer free.  Since I work in IT, it would have to happen on a weekend.  It would be so weird and out of character for me!

In addition to my job, I use my computer to pay bills, check email, read the news, keep up with family and friends on Facebook, learn new things, read and write blogs.  Could I actually do this?

I wonder if it would be worth it.  I will still have to write the blog post if I want to keep up the post a day challenge.  I will still need to pay the bills, either the day before or the day after.  My email will just accumulate and will take more time to read.  No news will mean I may want to watch it on television to keep up with the current events.  I will have more facebook posts to read.  The learning aspect will probably save me time.  But, the reading of blogs will be a little backed up.

I suppose that I could skip reading the blogs for a day and just pick up on the next day, but I know me.  That wouldn’t happen.  I will want to go back to the previous day’s post and then read the current day.

But still, I think a computer free day will sooth the soul.  It will give me time to do the other things in life that I want to do, from decluttering to spending the afternoon reading a good book.

Can you imagine it?  Would you feel comfortable without your computer for a day?  I may have to try this and see what happens!

This entry was posted in personal growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to the hidden vampire

  1. No, I could not even imagine a day without my PC. When I was in France I was nearly having a nervous breakdown because access was so limited. I did try scheduling one of my posts for when I was out but it was not quite the same as pressing the Publish button so it appeared there and then! 🙂

  2. But I don’t wanna be cured! 🙂 I’m in denial

  3. Kristin says:

    I would love to do that too! But it would also require giving up my cell phone too (email+facebook+twitter….). You could write your post and then just publish two the next day maybe…

    • Seashell says:

      For an IT person, I don’t keep up with all the latest technology. My phone is a dumb phone! It does connect to the internet, but it’s not a smart phone. It just gets used for phone calls and pictures. I think, by admitting this, I just lost my geek status.

  4. melsar93 says:

    A colleauge of mine with two young children just instituted Tech Free Sundays. No Internet, no video games, no tv. His first weekend went pretty well, but I am curious to see if he can maintain this habit for any length of time.

    As for the blogging every day, it is pretty easy to scheudle them to post. Your first scheduled post even has a built in topic on how you figured out the scheduling and that you are really off doing something else.

  5. barb19 says:

    I know what you mean – sometimes I feel like a slave to my computer. It’s funny you raised this topic at this time, because last Sunday my hubby and I decided to have a day without the computer. I sometimes feel that we are missing out on life because of the time we spend on the thing.
    So, we went for a walk on the beach with our dog, we visited some friends and then had some other friends round to dinner that night. It was a full day computer-less and we thoroughly enjoyed it! We both felt so good mentally, sort of refreshed.
    Sure, things had piled up online the day after, but we got through it; all I can say is it was definitely worth taking the time off, and we plan to do it every Sunday.

Leave a Reply

