not a WoW widow anymore

Scuba Man is a somewhat of a gamer.  He only gets into playing one game for a length of months, but there’s always one.  He used to play World of Warcraft a lot.  Apparently, it’s a bit addictive.

For those unfamiliar with WoW, it’s a little like Dungeons and Dragons.  A role-playing game with good and evil factions.  It’s in real-time, therefore if you are doing something in the game, you can’t just stop.  You have to get to a resting place without being killed.

Scuba Man used to spend hours upon hours playing WoW.  It caused some contention, mostly when supper was ready and he was in the middle of something with his team mates.  I got a lot of “I can’t just stop.  This is real-time.  They are depending on me.”  As a real-time wife, you can imagine how well that went over.

Eventually, I gave up and just let it be.  It wasn’t worth having a fight over.  If he couldn’t break away for whatever reason, it didn’t stop me from doing what I was going to do.

Several months ago, his characters reached the highest level they could go.  With no more goals to reach, he soon tired of going on raids and such, and gave it up.  I was no longer a WoW widow (a common name for wives whose husbands are WoW gamers).

Then his friends introduced him to a new online, real-time game, Eve.  He’s really enjoying this game.  It’s a space game, with missions and battles.  Instead of teams, you form corporations.  It sort of reminds me of Star Trek.  Now, I am a Trekkie (a lot of IT geeks are), yet this game holds no interest for me either.  I guess my destiny was not as a gamer.  I am now an Eve widow.

Gaming is his way of relaxing and letting off steam.  It took me a while to understand that.  My interests lie elsewhere as do my ways of dealing with stress, and relaxing.

NOT Scuba Man..but this is what a gamer looks like!

 

Mostly when he’s gaming, I’m doing something around the house or reading.  But, I also spend time on my computer.  That happens much more often  since I started writing here.  I’ve made a lot of new friends that are my blogging buddies.  I have more than a few blogs that I subscribe to.

Have I become addicted to my WordPress world?  Is that just as bad as gaming? Is one addiction better than the other?

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to not a WoW widow anymore

  1. Hi Seashells,

    Certain thinks are addictive but if they are enjoyable and it makes them happy and does not cost money (if the bank account allows) so be it. It’s all about give and take. Mr Piglets passion is football and he also plays a game called”fantasy football” …

    Yes WordPress for me has become addictive. EVeryday I look fowrd to reading my buddies posts. What’s happening in their lives, how to make soap, how to cook this or that, how to crochet a top, how this grows, photos, beautiful crafted posts where the words just flow, funny posts that make laugh, or sad posts that make me close to tears.

    Blogging is very much about interacting with other people… 🙂
    PS back to the ants nest problem…I was just boiling the kettle ! 😦 Sorry ants 😦

    • Seashell says:

      Mr. Piglet and I have something in common, sort of. I’m passionate about football, too, but it’s American football. I never really thought about the blogging being about interacting with people, although we all do interact on a daily basis. Thanks for reminding me of that. I have found so much encouragement from my buddies! It really has lifted my spirits.
      ~ shell

      • Hi Seashell, I never thought about it like this until the WordPress challenge.
        Think of all the buddies we have in our “group” we all interact with each other and share…Blogging is about sharing and caring. Some blogs may go viral in time and the writers may be discovered. However, in the meantime why not enjoy the friendship…it makes writing fun 🙂

        Back to the ant problem…they are invading my pots!

  2. melsar93 says:

    I am a very sporatic gamer. I’ve never gotton into WoW or any of the other MMORPG’s, but I will occasionally start a computer game and play that for hours at a time. I find that I get bored with games quickly and once I have figured out how the mechanics of the game world work I tend to stop playing.

    I’m guessing that there are alot of gamer husbands out there who wish they had wives as understanindg as you.

  3. Pingback: a typical female « seashells by the seashore

Leave a Reply

