a typical female

Mike, from The Mike/Mitch Project commented on my WoW Widow post that most gamers probably wish they had such an understanding wife as I am.  Apparently, as I have been told by the majority of my male friends, I am not a typical female.  This is a bit confusing to me.

I have no idea what defines a typical female.  When I ask my male friends, I get answers such as:

You don’t get jealous.

You go to the ladies room by yourself in bars. (Seriously?)

You don’t like to shop.

You like to watch football and you really understand it.

You’re a geek.

You don’t care what other people think of you.

You don’t gossip.

You really listen to what I am saying when I talk.

You don’t judge people.

You’re independent.

You are passionate about what you believe in.

I can talk to you about anything.

I know where I stand with you at all times.

You put yourself out there honestly.  You never pretend to be someone that you aren’t.

I am just me.  In the immortal words of Popeye “I yam who I yam.”  I have no idea if most women aren’t the same way.  I see some of the same qualities in some of my women friends.

I have many more close male friends than I do women friends.  Could my seemingly odd attitude be the reason?

What defines a typical female?  Is there such a thing?

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to a typical female

  1. The Alchemist says:

    lol… this cracked me up! I see that you are normal 😉

  2. barb19 says:

    I don’t know what defines a “typical” woman, but men must have some kind of “vision” in their minds as to how we should be and act! Don’t they know that today’s women are not the stereo-type anymore? We can be whatever we want to be, and we say what we want to say!
    I guess I am not your “typical” woman either because I possess most of the qualities you describe about yourself; I personally think men find it refreshing!
    You are you – I am me – period. Take us as we are boys!
    Great post!

  3. melsar93 says:

    I think barb19 hist it on the head when she said mental have a vision. I immediately pictured a friend’s wife nagging him for playing online too much. In many ways she excudes feminimity as I grew up picturing it. (Really it is my friend who has this problem – you wouldn’t know him because he lives in Canada.) I am not much of a gamer, but I have freinds who are and some (not all) get a lot of grief from their SO about all the time spent on WoW, Call of Duty, etc. Actually if I think about it the only exception I can think of to that is a couple I know that both of them play WoW. Of course I have afairly limited circle of friends so it could be bad data.

    • melsar93 says:

      That is either supposed to have been “men have a vision” or a “mental vision” – it’s late so my fingers went for something in between.

      • Seashell says:

        I think that’s true Mike. The reason most of my male friends don’t think I’m typical is because I don’t act like their SO on this particular thing or that particular thing. And whatever that particular behavior is that bothers them, they don’t sit down and talk to their SO about it.

Leave a Reply

