september…maybe october

Scuba man and I sat down and had a talk about the finances and my impending layoff.  In this economy, I am not sure how quickly I will find a job.  At this point, I am still trying to decide if I want to stay in IT.

We can meet all of our bills with Scuba’s salary except for the mortgage on the beach house.  Although Willow’s medical bills have drained our emergency savings, we do have enough to pay that mortgage through September, maybe October if we scrimp a lot.

Figuring out our necessary expenditures was very helpful.  We will cut discretionary spending to the bone, but there are still a lot of necessary bills.  Analyzing everything made us realize that I could take a 50% pay cut, if I had to, and we would still be able to meet our bills.  There would be little left over for fun, but we do what we have to do.

We’ve already started making little changes.  I have canceled pay channels on TV.  I am holding off on getting a new mobile phone and have canceled the data plan on my current phone.  It’s not a smart phone, so I rarely used the data plan.  I am watching the grocery store sale papers and shopping accordingly.  I know I’ll think of more and more as time goes by.  Suggestions are welcome!

We also talked about what the worst was that could happen if I couldn’t find a job paying enough to meet our bills.  You know what?  It’s not that bad.  As long as Scuba remains employed, the worst would be having to short sell one of the houses although we would hate to have to do that.  We’d still have each other, Willow, and Pockets.  We’d still have a roof over our heads, food to eat, clothes to wear.  It would crash our credit scores, but if I can’t find a job, credit scores will be the least of my worries.  Knowing that the worst isn’t all that bad makes the whole thing easier to take.

This entry was posted in finances and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to september…maybe october

  1. Papa Joe says:

    Seashell that’s a beautiful post. There’s nothing more important than a loving family and when you have that you don’t need anything else. And recognizing that you’re still leading a life that most in this world would envy makes cutting back seem less bad. I know. I’ve been there before.

    I’ll try to think on other suggestions but it sounds like you’ve covered most things for a great start. And unless you’re taste deaf like me, you probably won’t want mac & cheese five or six days a week.

    And I’m not sure if it still even applies in this electronic age but do you enjoy playing games as a family? Cards don’t cost a lot but can be a lot of fun as can board games.

    Good luck Seashell. Oh, have you thought of renting out the beach house?

    – Papa Joe

    • Seashell says:

      Up until this year, we did rent out the beach house. But the economy hit us there also. Last year, we barely made enough to cover 2 months worth of the mortgage and expenses. After replacing the things stolen and repairing the damage that results from weekly renters, it just wasn’t worth it financially to rent it out. I’m not sure what we are going to do from here on out. I’m just keeping this post in mind and I know everything will work out!

      • Papa Joe says:

        I’m sure it will work out Seashell. Nothing worthwhile is ever easy. So you can count on something wonderful coming your way when you get through this. 🙂

        – Papa Joe

        • Seashell says:

          I’ve already had wonderful blogging buddies come my way and you are one of them Papa Joe! I know that regardless of how things turn out, I’ll be happy and my life will still be wonderful and fulfilling. I already am!

  2. barb19 says:

    Sorry to hear of your financial difficulties Shell, you are going through a tough time but stay positive and try to keep your spirits up. Even if you do have to sell the beach house (God forbid), you still have each other, your pets, a roof over your head and food in your tummy; when it all boils down to it, those are the things that matter.
    You have discussed the problems thoroughly with Scuba man and that’s a positive action – talking about it. Next thing is taking action which you have also put into place; you will discover other ways of living with less as you go along.
    We are all here for you and if you need to rant, we are good listeners!

    • Seashell says:

      Thanks Barb. I so appreciate your words. I have been needing to rant but I won’t do that in a public forum too much! I know we’re all friends here, but we never know who could be lurking in the shadows! 🙂

  3. You can be broke and happy 🙂 You will find a way. I have learned you can live on very little and the simplest things in life will make you happy!

    • Seashell says:

      You are right PiP. I don’t mind being broke, and I have everything I need to make me happy. The material things don’t matter. I have come to realise this more and more the last few days. I have my family, my pets, and my friends. That’s my happiness. That’s what makes my heart sing!

Leave a Reply

