the great experiment

Several weeks back I wrote about the experiment Scuba Man and I were going to do regarding separating our finances somewhat.   Needless to say, with unemployment looming, it failed before it really was able to get off the ground.

It did accomplish one thing.  Scuba let me know, through trial and error on my part, what the easiest way is for him to keep track of our finances.  He had a vested interest in keeping track of them when we started the experiment.

He’s never been one to fuss with our finances.  Every few months the question would come up on where we stood financially and we would discuss things.  Other than that, if he wanted to spend on something not trivial, he would ask if we could afford it.  He trusts me implicitly with our money and thinks our excellent finances are because of my money management.

As we now have to tighten our belts and money is becoming more of an issue than it has ever been for us, I think he will still keep track of things.  We are now using a spreadsheet format, as opposed to Quicken or Mint, which seems much easier for me to keep updated and for him to see virtually everything about our complete financial picture.  It may sound a little old fashion, but it works for us better than anything we tried in the last 20 years.

I don’t mind handling all of our finances.  It is something I’m good at.  Now, knowing he has all the financial information at his fingertips that he will actually look at, it seems to ease a burden on me that I never realized was there.

This entry was posted in finances and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to the great experiment

  1. Papa Joe says:

    I’m with you Seashell. I used to keep a massive spreadsheet with tabs for each category and everything summarized into one master sheet. Even had my own equivalent of a “Chart of Accounts”. 🙂

    Good luck. 🙂

    – Papa Joe

    • Seashell says:

      Thanks Papa Joe! The spreadsheet takes me back to my accounting days, long before I even knew what a computer programmer was!

      • Papa Joe says:

        Never did study accounting directly Seashell. Just picked up bits and pieces. The spreadsheet really helped.

        Sort of hard to remember that “Visicalc” was the killer-app that helped start the PC revolution. That shifted to word processors and today I’m guessing it’s internet access.

        Nothing wrong with a good spreadsheet. You can see everything and have complete control. 🙂

        Good luck Seashell.

        – Papa Joe

  2. barb19 says:

    Sounds like an ideal way to keep track of your finances which suits you both.
    If I knew how to use a spreadsheet, I would use it for my own finances. Are you using Excel?

    • Seashell says:

      The spreadsheet I’m using is a OpenOffice.org spreadsheet. It’ similar to Excel. I use a computer that runs Linux and I don’t use any Windows programs. Open Office is free and is comparable to the Windows Office Suite. Although I haven’t figured out all the bells and whistles, I don’t need anything but the basic functionality to track our finances. There are plenty of site on the web that offer tutorials in using either of the spreadsheets, if you ever have the urge to try.
      ~ shell

  3. Hi Seashell,
    We use spreadsheets; great for keeping a handle on your finances especially when money is very tight. 😦
    PiP

Leave a Reply

