morning has broken

Morning has broken, like the first morning
Blackbird has spoken, like the first bird
Praise for the singing, praise for the morning
Praise for the springing fresh from the word
                 ~ Eleanor Farjeon

I woke up to a beautiful morning.  It wasn’t cold last night, so we slept with the window open a bit. There’s just something about an open window that makes sleep better.

After I let Willow out earlier, she wanted to go back to bed, so we did.  When I awoke the second time, there was a slight breeze coming in the window.  The birds were singing.

Pockets was laying on my arm, kneading and purring like cats tend to do.  Willow was down around our feet, quietly breathing.  Scuba man was beside me doing the same.

It feels like a spring morning, although it’s a false spring.  It seems too early for spring to have arrived for good.  I’m sure cold weather will be back soon.

But for now, I’m going to enjoy the beautiful weather, my wonderful little family, the daffodils coming up in my garden, and the sweet-smelling breeze.

Random blogs I visited yesterday:

Reaching for the Moon

Stringing Words Together

Someone Named Me

In Grace on the River Paths

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to morning has broken

  1. shobavish says:

    Seashell, thanks for the reference! Open windows sound so good. Spring has been pretending to come here too and I am so ready for it….

    • Seashell says:

      You’re welcome! My blogging buddy, Rose, started a challenge with us to visit random blogs daily to help encourage our blogging friends we have not yet met. She calls it the Random Blog 2011 Challenge. I like to give a shout out to those blogs that I’ve visited so my other blogging buddies can pop in and say hello. I hope others enjoy their visit to your site also!

  2. barb19 says:

    There are some things that just make you feel good to be alive – you just experienced it! Feels wonderful, huh? The simple things in life are always the best.
    Treasure your little family for each one shines in his own way!

  3. Papa Joe says:

    Sounds like a beautiful way to start your day ~shell. 🙂

    – Papa Joe

  4. Hi Shell,
    I really like that “Random Blogs I Visited Today” – and BTW – thanks for visiting mine and leaving a comment! :o) Is that Random Blogs something I can add like a gadget from my dashboard? I would love to do that. I love your idea for blogging. Inspirational! Thanks! Girlonapage.

    • Seashell says:

      Hi Monica,
      The Random Blogs badge can be added using a widget. The instructions can be found on Classy Rose’s post The Challenge was only going to be for one week, but I think it’s going to continue. I know I’m going to continue visiting random blogs. Rose is the genius that came up with the idea and is the driving force behind it. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. girlonapage says:

    THANK YOU, Shell!!! Will check it out!

Leave a Reply

