getting off my butt

The last few days have found me unmotivated, to the point of only doing what is necessary and spending a lot of down time reading or just vegging.  As my blogging buddies know, my blog reading is backed up and I mostly cannot find the motivation to even comment.  I apologise, my friends.

HGTV has been on a lot.  Instead of being motivated by it, I am just watching and getting ideas on what I’d like to do, not actually doing any of it.

Maybe it’s the stress that is causing it.  Maybe it’s that I’m waiting for that next chapter of my life to begin at the end of the week when the job is no longer there.  Maybe being laid off has got me a little bummed out.

I think I need to spend the day figuring out how to get motivated again.

Anyone have any ideas how?  I’m going to google it and maybe see if anyone has ideas out there that might work for me.  Or maybe this is just something I need to ride out and let blow over.  Have a Happy Monday!

Random blogs visited…must have been my day for photo blogs

tibbysphotos

whatipic

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to getting off my butt

  1. Theresa says:

    Wow, I just posted something similar. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

    • Seashell says:

      Thanks Theresa! I just stopped by your blog and I like it. I ride, but have been a passenger since 2009, when my hubby wrecked MY bike. Long story there… It’s nice here in Virginia today, so maybe a ride will help. I hope you feel better soon too!

      • Theresa says:

        I actually enjoy being the passenger 🙂 What kind of bike does he have?

        • Seashell says:

          He has a Vulcan Classic. I enjoy being a passenger too, but sometimes I want to ride and he doesn’t, and his bike is to big for me to handle comfortably! I’ll get my own bike again one of these years! We did go for a ride yesterday and it helped to make me feel better. I can’t wait for Spring!

  2. melsar93 says:

    Getting laid off sucks. I think you are allowed some melancholy, just don’t succumb completely.

  3. barb19 says:

    The bike on the back of your husband’s bike must have been quite a thrill! No wonder you felt good after it.
    Lift your spirits by doing something different – something you’ve never done before – it works wonders!
    Hope you feel better soon, will be thinking of you.

  4. Papa Joe says:

    Hi ~shell!

    I’ve blown hot and cold for motivation over the years so I really don’t know if I have anything to offer. I know that the prospect of an uncertain future can be disconcerting and that’s demotivating. But from what you’ve said recently, your future is sound, just different. And it may be more the stress of the unknown that you’re feeling right now.

    Personally I’ve been layed off, shuffled or downsized many times in my career. At some points I was a contractor which meant I’d never be certain of my next position. But at each break I looked at it as a blessing. Why?

    We all look forward to retirement but we don’t all make it there. I have friends who have dropped dead unexpectedly at early ages. Or some make it to a ripe old age only to find they’re trapped in infirm bodies.

    For me, each break was a blessing because it gave me the opportunity to enjoy life and sample the future I looked forward to while I still had a bit of my youth and some of my health.

    I hope you can enjoy your first day of freedom ~shell. It can be magical with the right attitude. I promise. 🙂

    Good luck.

    – Papa Joe

  5. Hi Shell,

    Papa Jo does make some valid points and “the prospect of an uncertain future can be disconcerting and that’s demotivating”.” this is so true. When my client hit hard times and they had “to regretfully let me go” I felt scared but at the same time a great sense of freedom. It was a strange feeling in that I seemed frozen, almost suspended in a state of nothingness; it was surreal…I felt in limbo. Is this how you are feeling?

    To motivate myself I religiously wrote a list every morning, not just chores but things like: exercise using one of my exercise DVD workouts every morning at 8.30 for 40minutes; go for a coffee with friends; go for a walk to the beach and back; work out how to use the video setting on my camera and video the xxxxx; dig out my paints and do a painting of xxxx; weed the front garden, plant the broadbean seeds etc.

    I was performing these “things” mechanically at first but the important point was to structure my day plus there were some tangible results. So what I’m trying to say, to cut out my waffle, is set yourself specific goals for each day and each week. Your goals must be S.M.A.R.T
    Specific
    Manageable
    Achievable
    Relevant
    Time bounded
    Relevant

    This trick worked for me give it a try – what have you got to lose?

    Hugs from PiP

  6. Love the picture you used with this post. It so fits. On the other hand, try to stay upbeat and look at it as an opportunity. When one door closes, another one opens, hopefully a much better one. I’ve been through so many changes myself, and everything works out. Just stay in the present!

    • Seashell says:

      Thanks. I’m really trying to stay upbeat and looking at this as a new opportunity. I think the stress combined with PMS just got to me a little. Feeling much better about things today.

Leave a Reply

