an alone week

Friday is my last day at the office.  It’s been a hard few weeks, having to be at work.  It’s disheartening to sit here and write code that you know you won’t see finished or in actual use.

I’m leaving for the beach house Saturday morning, alone.  It will be the first time I’ve ever stayed there alone.  Scuba Man will be joining me the following Thursday, as will my niece and her 2 (1/2) kids, AKA as my grandkids.

I am looking forward to spending a few days by myself.  Since we adopted Willow, I have not had a day totally alone, with no husband, no beagle, no kitten.  I will have no one to worry about but myself.

Scuba Man has spent time at the beach alone several times.  Sometimes it’s because things are being repaired, or furniture delivered, or just because he wants to.  He has the flexibility of working from home.  It was his suggestion that I go.

I have plans in my head of decluttering what little there is to declutter, job hunting, doing the taxes, deep cleaning, etc.  But then, I may just spend all my time walking on the beach, reading, writing, and dreaming while watching HGTV.

I might scream and cry and get angry about why I am the one being laid off.  I may spend lots of time meditating and doing yoga.  I may sleep late and nap every day.

I need to decompress.  It’s been such a long time since I’ve been alone that I’m not sure what I’ll do.  I know one thing though.  I will enjoy spending time with myself.  Yes, I will miss my Scuba Man, Willow, and Pockets, but I need to do this for me and I don’t know when I will get another opportunity.

I am a very lucky woman to have a husband that understands and encourages alone time.  Oh heck, I am the luckiest wife in the world to have Scuba Man period.  This is just one of the many reasons why.

Random blogs I’ve visited:

Country livin’ at it’s best!

young mom at 23

A Thursday’s Child

This entry was posted in personal growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to an alone week

  1. Shell,

    What a lovely post. It is good to spend time alone and reflect… 8)

    PiP

  2. Contemplative days ahead for you for sure.
    Relax, unwind, accept. I wish you peace.

    You sound like me 4 months ago 🙂

  3. Theresa says:

    I really like both photos you chose for this post. I was 33 when I left my ex and that was the first time I’d ever lived alone. A major adjustment but it was much needed time for me. The beach sounds like the perfect place for a personal retreat 🙂

  4. melsar93 says:

    I know the circumstances that brought you to this aren’t the best, but when you describe a few days alone on the beach I think it sounds wonderful.

    • Seashell says:

      It does sound wonderful Mike! I am looking forward to it. Being in IT yourself, you know how stressful it can get in this industry! Crummy circumstances, but it’s the first time I’ve ever been laid off, so I am luckier than most. I’m going to enjoy the time while I can before I’m back to the grind.

  5. This sounds fantastic, sometimes you just need to get away by yourself and clear your head, but it can be a little daunting…

  6. barb19 says:

    The time out alone will be good for you – just what you need. You can concentrate purely on yourself and not feel selfish, and I can’t think of a better place to do it than the beach! The swishing of the ocean on the beach, the birds, the serenity – a great environment to collect your thoughts and sort them out.
    Make the most of it and enjoy!

  7. classyrose says:

    I’m sure you will enjoy your time alone, especially being by the ocean. Hope you have a great time doing what you want when you want. 🙂

Leave a Reply

