HGTV zombie

I have spent too much time watching Home & Garden Television this week.  Now I am so full of ideas for both houses!

I would love to have a bath like this!

Funny thing is, I rarely watch HGTV in Richmond.  I don’t have a reason, it just doesn’t happen.  I will probably start watching it more often there now that we’re starting to redecorate the house.

Here at the beach, it’s about all I ever watch, unless we pop a movie into the DVD player.  I’ve watched and planned so many things for both houses.

I learned how to build a frame and install a pocket door.  That will be great for our master suite down here, because the bath is rather small and it would save room to use a pocket door.

I learned an easy way to turn a desk into a dining table.  This will save us money when we put the house in Richmond up for sale.  We use the formal dining room as my office, so we don’t have a dining room set in there.  Turning the desk into a table and finding a few chairs to refinish or rent would do the trick.

I will be the first to admit that I am terrible at decorating our homes.  But, I am getting better at it.  I am so full of things I want to do.  I have the extra time now, at least for a while, but not much extra money.

We made a conscious decision the other day that we want to concentrate all our efforts in getting the Richmond house fixed up and ready to sell or rent.  Next week, I will get started on painting the foyer and hall.  I’m excited to start!  Maybe not so much the real work, but that we will be making big progress toward our goal.

We need this.  We need to feel like we’re working in that goal direction.  Right now, we can’t make financial strides, but there are other things we can do to move that goal forward, and that’s what we’re going to do.

This entry was posted in goals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to HGTV zombie

  1. barb19 says:

    One day at a time . . . you will get there!

  2. classyrose says:

    Hi Shell, it sounds like you’re going to have some exciting and challenging times.

    I love working around the house and in one 2 bdrm house I lived in, every room was redone.

    Check and see if there is a FreeCycle in your area. 🙂

    http://www.freecycle.org

    • Seashell says:

      We have a FreeCycle here. I’ve have given away a lot on there, along with donating to Goodwill. Books go to the library for their used book sale. I am getting rid of a lot! I love working on the house. Maybe that’s what I need to do for a living.

  3. Hi Shell…do you ahve garage sales or flea markets there? I raised loads of extra money when we moved house.

    Re decorating I have lots of ideas which Mr P says keeps him busy. I am useless at painting…all my friends do the decorating…mr P says he wants to trade me in for a new model 😳

    I am intrigued -what is a pocket door?

    Have a good weekend
    PiP

    • Seashell says:

      We do have garage sales and flea markets here. Usually it’s the left overs from those that are donated. I list books on half.com and collectables on eBay. Every little bit counts.

      In our household, I am the one with the home improvement skills. My parents did all of their own and I was taught by them. Scuba Man’s parents didn’t really do those type things, so he learns from me.

      A pocket door is simple a door that slide into a wall instead of opening on hinges. It s a great space saver if there is enough wall space beside the door way.

  4. Ahhh we call those sliding doors 🙂 Interest how the names differ from country to country.

    • Seashell says:

      Sliding doors here are the double doors that slid in front of one another, instead of into a wall. They are mostly used as outside doors leading to a patio, deck, or garden. It is very interesting how names differ from country to country, even when the countries speak the same language!

      • You must have thick walls if they slide into the wall. So they slide into the cavity?

        • Seashell says:

          Yes they do. Instead of the normal wall supports or joists, a frame is built for the door as part of the wall. Pocket doors aren’t as thick as regular doors so the wall doesn’t have to be really thick. I’ve only seen them used as interior doors where noise insulation isn’t necessary, but space is at a premium.

Leave a Reply

