a foodie post – turkey pot pie

I have two buddies that are foodies, Mike over at The Mike/Mitch Project and Piglet in Portugal.  I love to cook, but usually look for shortcuts because of working full-time outside the home.

Hard to believe there would leftovers from this!

Yesterday, I made a pot pie.  This is just a dish I put together (no recipe) a few years back.  Scuba Man loves it!  I guess you could say it’s make from scratch.  It’s simple and easy.  It’s our favourite way to use leftover turkey.

All you need is:

2 pie crusts (a top and bottom crust)

leftover turkey or any other leftover meat you chose – just make sure it’s already cooked

frozen mixed vegetables

turkey or other favourite gravy

spices

To put together:

Put the frozen veggies out to thaw.

Roll the pie crust.  I use the premade kind a lot, so I let it come to room temperature.

Cur the turkey into bite size pieces.

Mix the turkey and defrosted veggies in a bowl.  The ratio of turkey to veggies is purely a personal choice.

Add the gravy, enough than you can tell there is gravy in there, but not enough to make it runny.  I mostly use canned gravy if I don’t have any left from when I baked the turkey.

Stir it all well.  Add whatever spices you like.  For me that’s usually poultry seasoning, paprika, etc.

Put the bottom pie crust into a square cake pan.  Fill with turkey and veggie mixture. Stuff it as much as you like. Place the other crust on top.

Cover with foil and bake at 350 for 1 hour for a fully stuffed pie.  Uncover and bake 10 – 15 minutes more to brown the top crust. Serve.

This is simple and easy to make.  I  make up several at a time and freeze them.  Even though most of the ingredients are store bought and not home made, it still tastes so much better than a frozen pot pie.

So there you have it.  My first foodie post. And of course, I forgot to take a picture.  Everyone who has tasted it has loved it and asked for the recipe.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to a foodie post – turkey pot pie

  1. I love Turkey pie!!! I also use chicken. Another idea is you can use chicken soup for the sauce rather than gravy. HAve you tried this option?

    Although I ahve plenty of time to cook I like quick and simple recipes that still taste good!

    • Seashell says:

      I never thought to use chicken soup. I’ll have to try that! I’ve made this kind of pie with chicken and beef, also. Both of those are good, to.

  2. classyrose says:

    Hi Shell, the way you described your recipe sounded just like my mom explaining one of hers. My mom never had proper measuring spoons, although she did have a measuring cup.

    It looks like you know how to put together meals with what you have on hand. It sure sounds tasty. 🙂

    • Seashell says:

      It’s hard to describe a recipe when you don’t really measure anything. I like to experiment when I cook. If I find a recipe I like, I might make it according to the recipe the first time, but after that I usually add my own touch. Scuba Man has never complained, so I must be doing something right!

      • classyrose says:

        Well, I can tell you that no one ever complained about my mom’s cooking they always praised it and couldn’t get enough of it.

        In order for me to write down one of her cookie recipes I had to count the number of handfuls of flour she tossed into the bowl. Then I made her toss a handful into another bowl so I could measure it.

        But if the cookie dough didn’t feel right she would toss in more flour. Her cookies always came out just right!! 😉

  3. melsar93 says:

    I Love Pot Pies. I have this page bookmarked and I’m going to make this at a future date. You know when I need something to blog about. Do you mind if I put the recipe on My Darn Good Recipe’s page?

  4. melsar93 says:

    Also, I’m pretty sure that is the first time I’ve been called a foodie. I’m more like a foodie-in-training.

Leave a Reply

