is facebook a waste of time?

I have a Facebook page, as does most everyone in my family.  I spend time there catching up with family and friends.

My sister M is giving up Facebook for Lent.  That lead me to consider how I use my time spent on Facebook.  For me, M giving up Facebook just means that we will communicate by phone more.  We used to call each other much more before we both got FB accounts.  Now, we mostly keep up with each other on-line.

My family is the reason I have a FB account.  My nieces and nephews use it as their main way of communicating.  Since we don’t live close enough to see them all as often as we would like, this keeps us updated to what is happening in their lives.

It all started when they stopped emailing and posting pictures to places like Snapfish, and started posting them all on FB.  I broke down and signed up, kicking and screaming all the way.  But I had to see my “kids”.  Now, I feel as close to them as I did when we actually lived close.  I know a lot about what goes on in their daily lives.  I get to see pictures of them and my grandkids all the time.

It’s so great!  I love the daily interaction.  I love feeling like I am part of their day-to-day lives.

I have also used FB to get back in touch with other family members that, due to time and distance, I had lost touch with.  I’ve come to know Scuba Man’s family better also.

I’ve gotten back in touch with school mates and childhood friends, and have found new friends who are friends of people I know.  Just today, I got back in touch with someone who was one of my best friends in my early 20s.  We have a lot of catching up to do!

For me, I don’t think FB is a waste.  I may check it a few times a day, but I only spend a couple of minutes up there when I do.  I use it for communication only and not for playing games.  I think that makes a difference in whether people consider FB a waste of time.

Do you use Facebook?  If so, what do you do when you’re there?

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to is facebook a waste of time?

  1. Theresa says:

    I am a FB addict 😉 My kids had accounts before me and I signed up originally just to keep an eye on them & their activity. I now have 2 large groups of friends on FB: heart parents and pit bull parents. The spouse & I also use FB as a base for our motorcycle group; I’ve gotten in touch with friends I haven’t seen since high school! I regularly do 3 apps/games; some of the kids do the same apps so I consider it a shared activity. I don’t use FB chat, and I’m not one of those people who have a huge list of ‘likes’. I used to have a My Space account, I’ve checked out Twitter…I like FB best, I think it offers something for almost everyone 🙂

    • Seashell says:

      I think my sister is somewhat of a FB addict, too! It should be interesting to see if she goes crazy giving it up for Lent. It’s going to be a hard 40 days for her!

  2. melsar93 says:

    I use Facebook probably more than I should. I am completely addicted to Mafia Wars, which I sort of hate – but there it is.

    Most of the people who read my blog only know about it because of Facebook. I try not to throw every posting out there – but if it is one that I like I will share it on FB or Twitter.

    Last August at the National Night out we became Facebook friends with some of our neighbors and we are now much more than just people who say “Hey” to each other as they are shoveling the snow/raking the leaves/mowing the lawn.

    • Seashell says:

      I never thought to use it for an occasional blog post link. Good idea Mike! I used to be addicted to Farmville, but gave it up cold turkey. I would play while watching TV. Now, I just crochet while watching. I get bored with TV if I’m not doing something else at the same time.

  3. Dillon says:

    I use FB almost exactly the same way you do. The reason I originally got one was because I had been planning to move to a different state for college, and I wanted to keep up with my family and friends. Now, even though I haven’t moved, it’s great for keeping up with all of my other friends who have moved. Plus, as you said, it is awesome for keeping up with family.

  4. classyrose says:

    Hi Shell, I originally signed up with Facebook when my daughter went out west to attend university. It gave me a way of knowing what she was up to since she never had much time for talking on the phone and preferred to text instead.

    Up until two months ago she was my only friend but I’m slowly adding more now. I’ve never played a game and don’t have much interest in it either.

    It’s great for keeping in touch with family and friends and I know many who use it for that reason. I think it all depends on how much time you spend on Facebook and find the right balance. 🙂

  5. Hi Shell,

    I am not sure about Facebook sometimes a bit too much information. I watched a video of my son setting his chest hairs alight when he was drunk. Some girls put some lighter fluid on his chest then set light to it!….hmmm def as a mother too much info.

    I know it has positive sides but I don’t want to be friends with the world and his wife LOL 🙂 but they keep asking 🙂

  6. Mona says:

    I gaveup facebook because Lent is all about sacrificing. Giving up facebook is a big sacrifice because I have totally been addicted to it and farmville. I could give up coffee or chocolate but I wanted to give up something addicting. I have kept in touch with alot of people that I know that I don’t get to talk to unless it is on FB.I even check it on my phone at work all day.
    I have even neglected everything else in my house for the last year because I’m so addicted to playing games and keeping up with everyone on FB. I love it for the communication.I am hoping this will keep me more in touch with my family by voice. I do not think it is a waste of time, but I am too addicted and need to get in touch with the real world.

    • Seashell says:

      I am so very proud of my sister!!! We just need to call each other more now. I gave up farmville, and all the other games I played, cold turkey when we went to Houston. It’s hard, but once I got over that initial withdraw, I don’t miss it. After Lent, I’m sure you’ll be able to get on FB just for communication. I have faith in you and love you so much!

  7. barb19 says:

    I first started using FB to keep in touch with family and friends, and for that it has been great because I’ve found family and friends I had lost contact with years ago
    I used to play some of the games but stopped as I found it time-wasting. I use it to publicize my blog, and am having a great response from my friends.
    However, FB has some security issues which concern me so I am selective about the information I share, and I choose my friends carefully.

    • Seashell says:

      Barb, I’m sure Papa Joe is very proud of you for being safe! I keep my info very private too and am also very selective about who I add as friends. Now I have to get brave enough to use it to publicise my blog.

Leave a Reply

