rainy days

Why is it that a rainy day can make you feel lazy?  It’s raining here today and all I want to do is curl up on the sofa with my babies and a good book.

Willow is already stretched out at my feet, snoozing.  Pockets is in his favourite window, probably also snoozing.  I’m here at my desk, writing.  My brain is on hold.

I listen to Willow “talking” in her sleep.  She is having a heck of a doggie dream!  It’s quiet outside, no noise from cars, or people.  The sound of nature and the keys on my laptop are the only other noises I hear.

It’s a peaceful day, I think, even if it is an unmotivated day.  Scuba Man is out-of-town for a few days with work, so I only have to worry about myself and our “kids”.  They’re pretty easy to handle for the most part.

Now, I need to decide what direction the day will take.  It’s already off to a slow start, as Willow decided to not get up until 7:00 AM, which means I didn’t wake up until then either!  I’ve gone through some of my email, checked in on my family through Facebook, and have read the news and a few blogs.  I’ve finished breakfast and coffee.

What to do now?  Do I go with the flow and have a lazy day?  Do I accomplish this and that and the other thing, like I have done, and watch the day fly by?  The last few days have gone by so fast it’s like I wake up in the morning and before I know it, it’s almost time to go to bed.  Time never seemed to pass by this fast when I was working!

Maybe I will start the day off lazy – I think I already have – and see where it takes me.  Knowing myself the way I do, I’ll end up getting as much accomplished today as I have been every other day.

What is it about rainy days…?

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to rainy days

  1. Country Living says:

    Oh I hear you Shelly on rainy days! Here, it’s the winters that get me feeling blah! Only because they last for like about 5 months, and most of the time the sky stays dark and cloudy!

  2. Theresa says:

    I don’t know what it is but I certainly know the feeling! Unless there’s something I have to take care of I usually go with the flow & appreciate the lazy day 🙂

  3. I love lazy days curled up in front of the log fire…by the time I post this you are probably in bed!

    Hope you had a great day enjoying your freedom
    Pip

Leave a Reply

