painting, yard work, and clutter

Do you ever have so much on your plate that you want to do that you don’t know where to start?  I’m feeling that way.

The wallpaper is almost completely stripped from the foyer and hall.  I want to start patching the walls and painting, from the ceiling on down.  We have everything I need for the patching and paint for the ceiling, but I haven’t started yet.

I have worked a little each day on getting rid of clutter.  I can’t believe how much we have!  Where does it all come from?  It’s a slow process though, with sorting through what to keep (very little there!), what to sell, and what to give away.  The usable things that I know the charity shop will take are piled, but the things I know they don’t take get listed on FreeCycle.  Also, eBay and half.com are my friends!

The yards, back and front need work now that winter is over.  The gardens need cleaning out and mulching.  Lawns need raking to get up the tree branches that have fallen over the winter.  The grass needs cutting.  The deck and picket fence need painting, etc.  Any one that owns a home knows what kind of work I’m talking about!

Then there is the normal housework to keep up with, such as laundry, dusting, vacuuming, moping, cleaning the bathrooms…

Where to begin today?  Every morning seems like that lately.  Yesterday, it was the normal housecleaning and clutter cleaning.  I need to do a little more of the housecleaning today, as one of my nieces and her kids are coming for the weekend.  There is also laundry to do and errands to run.  Oh yeah, and a job to hunt for!  Then maybe, if there is still daylight and the weather is warm enough, I’ll start cleaning the leaves out of the gardens and get them ready for mulch.

This is the way my mornings go since unemployment.  I check my email, I write my blog, I make a list of things I want to do today, and I look at the headlines, maybe reading a few.

I still haven’t gotten into any kind of rhythm or schedule.  That’s hard for me.  I like a schedule.  I like to feel organized.  I think the first thing I need to do is to start getting up the same time of day, every day, like I did when I was working.  Now, I get up when the dog wakes me up, and she hasn’t adjusted to the time change yet!

I’ll get into a rhythm.  And I know that once I do, the right job will come along and it won’t matter any more!

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to painting, yard work, and clutter

  1. ClassyRose says:

    Hi Shell, I’ve been there plenty of times with too many things to do.

    While the weather is nice, I would do the outside work first and leave the inside work for rainy days. Except for the cleaning that needs to be done.

    But I think you’re right about getting into a routine and you’re doing some of it already. Just need to build in the time factor and you’ll be on your way.

    Good luck with all your projects and job search and have a great time with your family this weekend. 🙂

  2. Theresa says:

    I used to drive myself crazy trying to tackle too many projects/chores at one time. A schedule was the key for me. Sunday evening I plan a list for each day of the following week, even taking the weather forecast into account. It’s a do-able list but for me the things on it must get done, anything else is considered a bonus 😉 And I always plan to have even a bit of ‘me’ time while the spouse & kids are gone during the day.

    • Seashell says:

      It’s than ‘me’ time I need to schedule in. I guess writing my daily post counts as that. Enjoy the beautiful weather this weekend! I’m sure y’all will be riding. 🙂

  3. barb19 says:

    Feeling overwhelmed with too many jobs to do can get you down – I wouldn’t complete any job without having a schedule or a list!
    I have learned also to focus on one thing and get it finished before going onto the next; I know sometimes that isn’t practical (like waiting for the paint to dry!), so you can do something else whilst waiting.
    The best part of having a list is crossing things off as you complete them – gives you a great feeling of achievement and satisfaction!
    Good luck and enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

