busy, busy…planting trees

Late afternoon and the day has been so busy!  Two of our “grands” are here visiting, one grand-niece and one grand-nephew. Their Mom, our niece, has a class here in town this weekend for work, so the kids are hanging out with us.

This morning, we sat for a couple of hours just talking about everything under the sun.  We don’t often get time to spend with them without anyone else around and we really enjoyed this.

Boy scouts planting trees.

They went with us to Lowe’s so we could get everything we needed to do this weekend’s yard work.  Let me tell you, it’s so much more fun going to a home improvements store with a 10-year-old and a 12-year-old!  Then it was home to put them to work.  Voluntarily, of course!

They learned how to plant a tree: how wide the hole must be, how deep to dig, how to loosen the roots so they don’t continue to grow in the ball shape.  We bought 2 Cleveland Pear trees for our front lawn.  They took turns digging with Scuba Man and got the trees planted in no time at all.

I spent most of the day raking the winter debris from the lawn.  We have a lot of oak trees in and around our yard, along with some pine trees.  Over the winter, the rest of the leaves finally fell from the trees, along with branches, plenty of acorns, and pine cones.  It took a long while to rake and we’re still not finished.

After they planted the trees, Scuba Man and our grand-nephew came behind me and bagged the debris.  My grand-niece was finished for the day.  She had had enough of yard work!

Now, we’re headed to the hot tub.  Us older folks to ease our aching bodies and the young ones just because it’s fun.  Getting a little chill time before we go make pizza for dinner when my niece get back from class.  Then Scuba Man and I are off for date night…or are we?

Tonight is another Richmond Forum presentation, with Dr. George Church.  Dr. Church developed the first direct genomic sequencing method.  It should be a very interesting presentation.  But…we’re considering not going.  We’re both tired and a little sore from all the yard work.  Plus we’re really enjoying spending the time with family!

Life is good.  It’s even better because of family.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to busy, busy…planting trees

  1. This sounds like my type of day….Eliza Keating

  2. barb19 says:

    Sounds like you had a working bee in the yard. It’s good to show kids stuff like that, they love it, and learn from it too.
    I love my garden – it’s where I am at peace with myself and the world! Just wish my body felt the same way.

  3. This sounds a perfect day! BTW you said you only had a brown thumb….I know where to come now when I want advice on planting trees! 🙂

    • Seashell says:

      Scuba Man will be happy to give you advice! Now you know why I was doing the raking while he was planting. I am eagerly looking forward to the trees blooming. They have such pretty white flowers.

  4. Pingback: busy, busy…planting trees | thewikipress.com

  5. ClassyRose says:

    Hi Shell, sounds like you had a wonderful day with your family. A little bit of everything. 🙂

  6. boyonabudget says:

    We worked on Mom and Dad’s yard today. Now I am chillin – really chillin. Sitting here moving the ice pack back and forth between my neck and lower back. I’m glad to help when I can. But I wish I made enough to pay someone else to do it for them:) I’m gettin’ too old for this.
    Kathleen

    • Seashell says:

      Sometimes I wish I had my Daddy’s energy. Not only does he take care of his own yard, he also plants and tends to a vegetable garden! I’m amazed at his doing this at his age, but he absolutely loves it.

Leave a Reply

