what is greatness?

“Really great people make you feel that you, too, can become great.”   Mark Twain

A friend of mine posed the question “What makes someone great?”  I think the answer is different not only for every one of us, but also in who the person is we are talking about.

Soldiers - Greatness

I consider my husband to be a great man.  He is kind, loving, and unselfish.  He makes me feel like I can do anything in the world.  He believes in me and makes me want to be a better person.  He makes my heart want to burst with love.

My friend JH is a great man.  He also is kind, loving and unselfish.  He really listens when you talk with him.  He is very compassionate.  When he loves someone, he loves them with everything he is.  That, more than anything else, makes him great in my eyes.

My friend DS is a great man.  He also is kind, loving and unselfish. He’s a big brother to an underprivileged child.  He is open and has somewhat of an innocent charm about him.  He is the most adventurous person I know and is never afraid to try new things.  He is so very generous and gives so much of himself.

My niece is a great woman.  She is kind, loving and unselfish.  She is a wonderful mother.  She loves spending time with her kids and doing things with them.  She loves teaching them new things, reading to them, playing with them.  She teaches them discipline and how to behave.  She spoils them, but only a little.  She showers them with so much love!

Willow’s vet and my friend, Dr. N, is a great woman.  She is kind, loving and unselfish.  She not only cares about Willow, but also how Scuba Man and I handle her sickness and bad episodes.  She calls us to check up on Willow, to include all hours of the day and night when she’s really sick.  Dr. N has even come into the office on her day off to take care of Willow.  She loves that dog as much as we do!

As I look back on all I’ve written, I have defined greatness as being kind, loving, and unselfish.  What makes a person great in your eyes?

This entry was posted in personal growth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to what is greatness?

  1. barb19 says:

    I think you got it in one sentence Shell – kind, loving and unselfish; the world would be a better place if we all displayed those qualities.

  2. What makes a person great in your eyes? Very much as you have written and I agree with barb19’s comments as well 🙂

  3. ClassyRose says:

    Hi Shell, you said it all in your last sentence. 🙂

  4. Penny says:

    Shell-You have described it well, on what makes a person great. I might add, one being himself, acts of kindness, and always carrying a smile, as it is contagious !! 🙂

Leave a Reply

