did the associated press stop reporting?

My Associated Press gadget has stopped updating on my iGoogle page.  This is just wrong!

I get 99% of my news from the Internet.  To be more precise, I get my news from my iGoogle page that uses an AP gadget.  It hasn’t updated since Friday.  I have no idea what is going on in the world.  I didn’t know until this morning that Libya is being bombed.  I just thought it was a slow news weekend.

The realisation is I am way to dependent on the Internet.  I don’t read the news paper in paper form any more.  I rarely talk on the phone with friends and family any more.  I would be total stuck on how to find a job without the Internet.  I would be lost!

How did this happen? Did I get tired of newspaper print all over my hands?  Did my phone battery die?  Am I that big of a geek that I am lost without my wi-fi?

I sometimes envy folks like my Daddy.  He uses the Internet (and his computer) for one thing and one thing only:  to check his bank balance.  Actually, that’s all he knows how to do on it and that’s only because I set it up so all he has to do is click on an icon on the desktop.  He has yahoo messenger on it but has never once initiated a chat.  Once or twice he has chatted with family over the past 5 years or so.

He has a cell phone, but only because we kids insist on it.  We all got a little freaked out when he was driving to my sisters and got lost.  We had no idea where he was or if he was in an accident.  To him, it was just normal.  He got lost, he stopped and asked directions, and he finally made it a few hours late.  And, we got him a cell phone in case it ever happens again.

He’s technology challenged, which I guess is normal for someone his age.  He really has no desire to learn how to use it.  He’s lived this long without it, so it isn’t necessary!

Yes, it would be nice to be like that, but I’m too much of a geek to give it up.  I have a hard time even having a technology free day!  So now, I have to go in search of the latest news and see if I can’t fix my gadget.  Welcome to Monday…

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to did the associated press stop reporting?

  1. ClassyRose says:

    Hi Shell, I think sometimes we rely too much on technology but that’s the era we live in now. I still find reading an actual printed newspaper much easier than reading it online. So much easier to scan the headlines without the distracting ads and banners. 🙂

  2. Barb says:

    I think we all get too reliant on technology Shell.
    But I must admit, I still enjoy sitting down with the newspaper to read through the news – or watch it on TV. Seems easier than the internet.

    • Seashell says:

      I think the internet is easier for me because I spend so much time on the computer, due to my chosen career field. I do like the paper when I have time to read it, which isn’t often!

  3. Penny says:

    Good old technology !! it’s really scary, when you stop and think about it-where will be in five or 10 years from now-maybe we will be replaced by robots !! 🙂

    I have friends who still will not get a computer, cellphone, or any of the new gadgets available today-they say “I have lived this long without them-its not going to bother me without those things. !!!

  4. Penny says:

    Oh, and I want to add – I would love to have the old-timer telephone operators back-I get so tired of the long drawn out process of making calls today ! press 1 for this-press 2 for that- and press 9 to hang up. !!!!! Grrrrrrrrrr ! cannot talk to anyone now days-!

  5. Hi,
    I agree we rely to much on the internet but I could not live without it now. Well, I suppose I could if there was a major disaster and we did not have internet. But as an expat in a country where the language is like “clingon” (starwars) someone could shout a Tsusami is coming and we would look at them blankly. This is SCARY.
    I use the internet to read the newspapers 🙂
    PiP

    • Seashell says:

      LOL PiP…Klingon is Star Trek! I’m a Trekkie, so that made me laugh! It would be very scary to not understand the language sometimes. Especially if people were running around like crazy and you didn’t know what was wrong.

Leave a Reply

