momma trauma

Such a traumatic morning for Momma and Willow!  She has an appointment with her internist, Dr. Rios,  today.

Willow loves her chew bones!

Dr. Rios works at VRCC, which is a specialty vet and critical care facility.  Willow has spent a few weeks there in critical care.

Because it’s also an emergency room, appointments are drop offs.  Willow gets dropped off in the morning and Dr. Rios sees her as soon as she can, given emergencies that can come up.  Usually Willow is ready to go by 2:00 pm.

It started with the ride.  Willow hates riding in a vehicle, which is why we have to sedate her for longer rides.  The center is about 1/2 hour away, which is too close for sedation.  She was a mess on the ride there.

She wanted to ride on my lap.  A 30 pound dog on your lap makes it a little hard to steer!  When I finally got her to lay down, she laid there trembling and panting like crazy.

She usually does tremble and pant in the truck, but not this bad.  I couldn’t get her calmed down for some reason.  When we parked, she was eager to get out, but was still trembling and panting when I walked her.  That has not happened before.

Once inside, she was still just as bad.  She struggled to get back to the front door and wanted to leave.  She cried, whined, and then puked.  This all was a first.  In the past, she just runs around sniffing and struggling to get away from the leash so she can explore some more.  Even the vet tech said she was acting much, much worse than she usually does.

By the time I got back in the truck to leave, I was almost in tears.  I’ll be spending the rest of the day fretting, until I have her home where she feels safe.

Even though I know it’s for her own good, and it keeps her as healthy as she can be, and out of pain, I hate it.  I hate that she has to go to the vet so much.  I hate that she has to get poked and prodded and have blood tests almost every month.  I hate that she has to have medicine 4 times a day, sometimes more.  I just want my baby to be healthy.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to momma trauma

  1. Theresa says:

    Poor baby 😦 I just hate when my dogs are sick or hurt…they look miserable, can’t tell us how they’re feeling, and for the most part there isn’t a lot us pet parents can do.

    Will be looking for your update…

  2. Barb says:

    I know how you must have felt when you took Willow to the vet, although this time she seemed to be a lot worse for some reason; she has been there so many times, she knows she’s going to get poked and prodded, etc. My dog is just the same, and the one we lost a year ago was a lot worse – but she, like Willow, had gone through a terrible 9 months with a shocking disease (we almost lost her back then), and she was continually at the vet. Her reaction on going to the vet was like Willow, although she didn’t puke!
    We know it’s for their own good but they don’t.
    The positive thing is that they have reduced her medication again, so it’s all worth it!

Leave a Reply

