the blank page

It’s sitting here, staring at me, waiting for me to wow and amaze it.  Can I do it?  Can I write something it will consider worthy of publishing?

Some days I feel I am in a constant struggle with the blank page.  It’s demanding.  It’s a hard task master.  It craves being filled with words and desires photos.

Until I fill the blank page, it settles in my mind, constantly reminding me not to neglect it.  It’s like a child that wants ice cream and doesn’t understand the freezer is bare.

It stares at me accusingly.  It tries it’s best to put me on a guilt trip, to make me take action to give it what it wants.

Some days, it makes me want to throw a tantrum and bang my head on the keyboard because it’s so empty.  If I throw a tantrum first, maybe it will leave me alone.

I’ve tried avoiding the computer, and therefore the blank page, but it doesn’t work.  It’s as if the blank page can call me subconsciously, even when the computer is off.

How did I become a slave to this thing?  One day, I was just thinking my thoughts in my head and the next thing I knew, I started filling the blank page.

Once I filled it a few times, it became more and more demanding.  It wanted filling every day.

I don’t know how to break free!  But then I think to myself, do I really want to???

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the blank page

  1. barb19 says:

    I love your description of the blank page – you make it sound almost human!
    Let’s face it – we are addicted to the blank page – it draws us like a magnet until it’s filled up with words and photos! Ah . . . the satisfaction when complete! Now we can go and get our other jobs done!

  2. I have days like that too!

Leave a Reply

