put it in writing!

Scuba man and I discussed our new goals a little more yesterday.  His suggestion, since he knows me so well, is to make a list of everything I feel I need to do to get the house ready to rent.  Start with the low hanging fruit so I feel like I’m making progress.  He said this would help me stay organised, focused, and motivated.  So here it is:

Pack up the clutter and send it on it's way!

Declutter:

  1. Foyer and hall
  2. Master bedroom and bath
  3. Guest bedroom
  4. Main bath
  5. Laundry room
  6. Family room
  7. Half bath
  8. Exercise room
  9. Small guest bedroom
  10. Scuba man’s office
  11. My office
  12. Kitchen
  13. Craft room
  14. Garage
  15. Attic

Finish stripping wallpaper:

  1. Hall
  2. Guest bedroom
  3. Main bath
  4. Half bath
  5. Family room
  6. Kitchen

Paint ceilings, woodwork, and walls:

  1. Foyer and hall
  2. Scuba man’s office
  3. Living room
  4. My office
  5. Kitchen
  6. Master bedroom and bath
  7. Craft room
  8. Main bath
  9. Laundry room
  10. Guest bedroom
  11. Exercise room
  12. Small guest bedroom

Clean and/or refinish

  1. Stain new woodwork around sliding glass doors
  2. Half bath cabinet
  3. Main bath cabinet
  4. Master bath cabinet
  5. Kitchen cabinets

Misc:

  1. Clean and list leather furniture on Craigslist
  2. Clean and move other furniture into family room.
  3. Sell treadmill.
  4. Swap out clothes dryer from beach
  5. Fix or replace faucets in main bath

Floors:

  1. Replace carpet in family room, hall, and master bedroom
  2. Steam clean remaining carpet
  3. Scrub bath and kitchen floors
  4. Clean and shiny hardwood floors

I am sure that I will think of other things to put on this list.  I may not follow this list from start to finish.  I may clean and sell the leather furniture while I’m decluttering.  But, it gives me a place to start.  I will feel like I’m making progress.  I’ll no longer feel I am floundering like a fish out of water.

It’s nice to have a plan.

This entry was posted in goals and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to put it in writing!

  1. LeRoy Dean says:

    A very focused plan. Now for the energy to implement it. 🙂 Like your blog.

  2. Pingback: put it in writing! | seashell by the seashore | Declutter My House

  3. Country Living says:

    Not to be done all in one day, I hope?!

  4. My goodness…that’s a list even Mr Piglet would be proud of! 🙂

    I thought you also deserved a Versatile Blogger Award!
    http://pigletinportugal.wordpress.com/2011/03/27/versatile-blogger-award/
    Congrats 🙂

  5. barb19 says:

    That’s quite a list you have there! It does help to write it all down – and as you get through the jobs you will feel great crossing them off, one – by – one! 🙂

  6. Don’t you love how lists are full of endless possibilities? You’ve got your future all neatly set out in front of you, and you know exactly how to get to where you want to be, one check-mark at a time.

    Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

