a painting for kathleen

It’s early morning and the sky is overcast as I climb the stairs crossing over the dunes.  I can hear the waves crashing long before I can see them.

At the top landing, I stop and take in the beauty.  The new dune grass is peaking through the sand.  The existing grasses sway gently in the breeze.

The ocean is a steel-blue, reflecting the sky.  The waves are pounding on the shore.  It’s a perfect morning for surfers, but there are none.

As I hike through the remaining dunes, I smell the ocean more strongly.  It smells of salt, of peace, of happiness.  A smell that means all is right with my world.

I walk out of the dunes and on to the beach.  The sand is hard packed from last night’s thunderstorm.  It’s very firm under my feet.

I move closer toward the ocean.  I am alone.  The beach is empty.  I see nothing but the pier and miles of desolate sand. And seashells.

The waves spray tiny droplets of mist.  I can see it as they hit the beach.  I can see it as they break off-shore.  As I stop at the tide line, I can feel it.  It’s soft, cool, and tingly on my face.

As I stand there, the clouds slowly begin to part.  The sun peeks through, giving the sky a pink and orange glow.  I can feel it warm on my body.

I want to stay here forever.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to a painting for kathleen

  1. LeRoy Dean says:

    Thanks. I could see, hear and feel the moment.

  2. I know how you felt like 🙂
    It feels awesome reading what you experienced.

  3. melsar93 says:

    It seemed like I was reading a magic spell that conjured up a different time and space. Thank you for sharing.

  4. boyonabudget says:

    Thank you!!! Wish I were really there – but reading your description was the next best thing.
    Enjoy your day and I hope the sky has already turned all blue.
    Kathleen

  5. Theresa says:

    This is great, I really miss the beach!

  6. barb19 says:

    I was right there with you Shell, feeling the mist on my face and taking in the wonder of it all. Wonderfully written piece!

  7. Hey Shell your words paint a great picture…which I can really relate to. Looking out to sea you can really feel something stir deep within you to the very core of your being.
    Great post Shell!
    8)
    PiP

Leave a Reply

