oh, the things you’ll learn

I have blogged steadily for 3 months now, as part of the Postaday2011 Challenge.  I have come to learn some important things about myself (and others) through all of this.

  1. If it is something I really enjoy, I will stick with it and make it a habit.  Yes, there have been a few days where I didn’t feel the urge to write, but for the most part, I look forward to it and love doing it.
  2. On the days I don’t feel the urge to write, I had better have a post or two in reserve.  When I don’t, those are my worst posts and I’m sure my regular readers can tell.  On those days, I sometimes think I should just blow off the challenge, but I want to say I was able to do something I love every day for a year.
  3. I often feel paralysed with change.  I need to have a set course of action if something major changes in my life.  For the past month or so, I feel like I’ve just been going through the motions and not accomplishing anything.  This is something I desperately need to fix!
  4. There are so many wonderful people in the blogging world.  I have met and become on-line friends with people I would have never met in person.  These people have encouraged me, advised me, and even helped me in my job search!  How great is that?  They make me feel special.
  5. Sometimes it takes me a while to face reality.  This one will come out in future posts, I’m sure.
  6. Reading blogs satisfies my voyeurism.  Most of the blogs I read daily are a mini chapter of a life.  Biographies and autobiographies are my favourite reading genre.  Is it any wonder I like reading blogs?
  7. My favorite posts are those I write using my imagination, not the ‘about life’ blogs.  I need to write more of these.
  8. My husband will not leave comments on my blog.  He does read it daily and almost always has something to say, he just says it in person.
  9. I have yet to let go of the fear of pushing the “Publish” button.  Does this fear ever go away?
  10. I am a better writer than I ever thought I would be.

I knew that writing every day would be fun, but I didn’t know it would help me to learn so much about myself.

If there is anyone in your life thinking about starting a blog, encourage them!  It’s good for the soul.

This entry was posted in personal growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to oh, the things you’ll learn

  1. Hi Shell,
    I am just off to my friend shortly to show her how to set up a blog. I never realised blogging could be such fun but it’s not for everyone.
    You are right you do learn alot about yourself. I also fear the Publish button…and even when I publish a post I’m still tweaking it days later. 🙂
    cheeers
    PiP

  2. Brenda says:

    Happy bloggin! I keep trying to get my friends to do it, just doesn’t seem to work 😦 . So now, I’m meeting new friends all over the world! Bloggin is great, a good stress release, and tells you alot about a person! 🙂 Keep up the good work!

  3. Scuba Man says:

    Who said I won’t leave a comment? Never say never……

  4. barb19 says:

    This blogging thing is fun, and as well as learning about our friends here, I am also finding out more things about myself and my feelings – writing is very therapeutic!
    I see Scuba Man had to prove you wrong Shell, with his first comment here!

  5. Penny says:

    Blogging is so much fun, I’m thankful for my friend giving me the inspiration and encouragement, its the best move-I have made. I too, get that little hestitation every time I go to push the publish button, but its getting a little easier now ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

