avon, colorado

Scuba Man and I obviously have a thing for towns called Avon.  The beach house is in Avon, North Carolina.  In August of 2006, we took a vacation and fell in love with the town of Avon, Colorado.  Here’s why:

The have a rodeo every August. We were lucky enough to be there for it. When it rained, they gave away free rain ponchos!

The view from our room.

We drove from Avon to Aspen one day. The ride was beautiful.

The Continental Divide

The curve Scuba Man named 'The Oh Sweet Jesus' curve.*

This was just a short walk from where we stayed.

This sign was on the bridge that crosses over the river in the about photo. Nice name.

* On the drive to Aspen, we drove through the mountains instead of taking the main highways.  Some of the roads were pretty scary.  You can’t tell from the picture, but right as you started to round the hairpin curve, the road was actually crumbling on the outside, to the point that the paint that marks the lane had completely crumbled away.  Scuba Man, being the fast driver he is, took the curve a little to fast for my comfort.  That, combined with the crumbling curve, produced an “Oh Sweet Jesus” exclamation from my lips.  I don’t think I’ve ever been that scared in my whole life.He laughed so hard at me!  I know reading this is going to give him a laugh still.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to avon, colorado

  1. LeRoy Dean says:

    Thanks for sharing. make me wanna pack my bags. 🙂

    • Seashell says:

      It’s a great place in the summer, though I’m not sure I would want to go in winter. The town is at the bottom of a ski resort. Too cold for me!

  2. Brenda says:

    Looks beautiful! Don’t find places like that here in Delaware! 🙂

  3. Kristin says:

    That’s much prettier than Avon, Indiana! 🙂

  4. Dillon says:

    Hey, I don’t know how you got to Avon, but if you took I-70 from Denver, you probably went through Dillon, Colorado, which has a big (for CO standards) reservoir called Lake Dillon. It is the first town west of the Eisenhower Tunnel. Or, if you took Loveland Pass, Dillon is where Hwy 6 rejoins I-70. Anyway, the point here is that you might have seen a city named after me, though it was before we knew each other. 🙂

    Love the pictures! Thanks for doing my state justice! 🙂

    • Seashell says:

      I can’t remember which roads we took. I was too busy looking at the beautiful scenery! Colorado is a wonderful place and I hope we get to visit there again.

  5. Theresa says:

    Very pretty! Colorado is on my list of states I’d like to visit 🙂

  6. Country Living says:

    I loved the one with the curve! All the pictures are amazing!

    • Seashell says:

      Thanks! I’m usually not that good with photography. I would have had more pictures, but I dropped the camera in a creek and the photos taken after that were just a little too light.

  7. barb19 says:

    You did a great job with the photographs Shell – sure is some breathtaking scenery in Colorado! Not sure about those crumbling curves on the roads though . . . but I’d still love to visit there one day!

    • Seashell says:

      Pictures can’t really do it justice Barb. It’s breathtaking to see those mountains in person. I do hope you’ll be able to see that for yourself one day.

  8. I know exactly what you mean about scary, winding mountain roads with sharp drops. They’re so incredibly frightening, and when you go careening around them at top speed, it really does feel like you’re going to fall off!

    But a much more serious note, why on earth don’t all bridges get names like “Bob”?

    • Seashell says:

      Ella, I think all bridges should be named! Why stick with Bob? We could have Barney the bridge, Bart the bridge, etc. Bob the bridge will always be the best, though!

Leave a Reply

