sniffles, fresh air, and sleeping

As I sit writing this, I have a dilemma.  Do I close the windows and put the air conditioner on?  Or do I leave them open and ‘suffer’ the consequences?

I love having the windows open, at least now when the weather isn’t sweltering hot.  I grew up without A/C, so it feels pretty normal to me.

Scuba Man, however, prefers A/C.  He always likes it cooler than I do and I usually can’t wear shorts much during the summer, unless I’m outside.

He had a hard time sleeping last night, claiming it was too hot.  I was comfortable with the windows open and the overhead fans on.  Just the sheet and  bed spread.  Had the A/C been on, I most likely would have covered up in a down quilt.

This leads me to question what to do.  Leaving the windows open brings in fresh air.  I can hear the birds and sounds of nature.  I’m comfortable temperature wise. A fan in the bedroom window can blow the cooler air in at night.  It sure does save money!

But, it’s hell on my allergies.  There is a fine dusting of pollen on everything in the house.  Is it worth it?

Pollen on my candy apple red truck. Yep, all that yellow stuff on the roof...pollen.

On the other hand, A/C doesn’t smell as good.  I get cold and wouldn’t be sitting here in a pair of shorts and short sleeve tee.  More likely, sweats and long sleeves.  Using the A/C raises our electricity bill.

With the A/C on, the house will be quieter overall.  It will help to clear out the pollen and therefore help with my sniffles.  I can light scented candles to make the house smell good.

I consider air conditioning a want, Scuba Man considers it a need.  This is one he will win.  I can put on more clothes to be warm, but there’s only so much he can take off to be cool.  Especially with the windows open!

I’m sure the neighbours will thank me…

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to sniffles, fresh air, and sleeping

  1. melsar93 says:

    Living in the great white north we don’t have AC in our house. We usually regret that about 5-10 days out of every summer. We have a lot of ceiling fans in the house and that usually is enough.

    If we did have AC I would be with Scuba Man. The colder the better.

  2. Hi Shell,
    Is that the pollen from the pine trees…we get that it’s terrible and covers everything. AC on or off. I am a fresh air person myself and would have it off and save money!
    We ahve sometimes had a fan on to cool the air…but that’s it 🙂
    PiP

    • Seashell says:

      I think it’s pollen from the pine trees and the oak trees. We live in a wooded neighbourhood, which is very lovely but has a lot of both types of trees. On the plus side, the trees also shade the house and help keep it cooler.

  3. Brenda says:

    OMG! I hate pollen!! Where I am, there are usually very few days that the windows can be open and not attack my allergies, nor my husbands. So we usually opt for the a/c just to keep all the yuks out! 🙂 Great blog!

    Bren

  4. Megan says:

    You know Seashell, I actually blogged about this earlier on my blog. Your blog post has given me some food for thought, I feel you make some interesting points. In fact, I just wish I had discovered it earlier, prior to posting my own article! – cars2scrap

  5. barb19 says:

    I’m a fresh air fiend myself, so I would opt for open windows and cheaper electricity bills! We only put the a/c on when it’s absolutely necessary. Either way you will suffer with your allergies, so you might as well save some money! If Scuba Man agrees of course – or are you fighting a losing battle with him?

    • Seashell says:

      We mostly compromise on the temperature in the house. Problem is what is warm to me is often too hot for him. I was reading in the local paper yesterday that this is a super bad year for pollen here. Not only is the tree pollen worse than usual, but the grass pollen has already started, about a month earlier than usual. Ahhhh, spring….

  6. We’ve only had one day so far this year where I felt the AC was necessary…crossing my fingers because the pollen hasn’t been bad yet. I have an L-shaped desk with one section sharing a window wall…when it gets bad that portion is usually covered in yellow. A few of my kids suffer from seasonal allergies; I’m fortunate that after moving south I no longer do.

Leave a Reply

