so far away

My best friend’s dad passed away Wednesday, just a few hours after I had talked to her.  My heart is still crying for her.

photo courtesy of FTD

We had a long conversation that afternoon.  She was in Florida, at a conference, and had a break, so she called me.  She has gone through a lot the last several weeks, with her dad being sick and her sister being treated for breast cancer.

The family had found out earlier that her dad’s organs had begun to shut down, so she knew it was just a matter of time.  But, even expecting it, the death of a parent is devastating.

The Easter season is compounding things.  The Catholic funeral mass cannot be held until after Easter.  I imagine the family will feel like it is in limbo until then.  And, because it is such an important time in the Church, her brother Brian, a Catholic priest, cannot be with the family to comfort them.

The next few days and weeks will be so hard for her.

And I’m so far away.  It bothers me that I can’t physically be there for her.  I just want to hug her and let her cry on my shoulder.

It’s difficult to live so far away from people you love.  The reason we live so far away from each other now is because Scuba Man and I moved back to the east coast to be closer to my family, when my momma was sick.

Friends are family we choose.  KK is family to me.  I love her and I wish that she wasn’t going through this, although death is a part of life.  You want to protect those you love from all the hurt and injustice in the world.  You just can’t, no matter how much you try.

The last thing I ever say to her when our phone conversations are ending is “I love you KK.”  I hope she can feel that love right now and that it helps her, even just a little, in the coming days.

Rest in peace, Mr. K.  You will be missed.

This entry was posted in just a normal day. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to so far away

  1. Brenda says:

    My condolences to her family.

  2. barb19 says:

    So sorry to hear this sad news, and I know how frustrating you must feel being so far away from your friend. All you want to do is comfort her in any way you can, but Shell, she knows that because she knows you. We can’t physically hold that person, but we can still comfort from afar, by talking on the phone, and she will be comforted because she feels your love for her; she knows you are there for her.

Leave a Reply

