the uncluttered foyer

I finally took pictures of the foyer that went through the declutter process a couple of weeks back.  Here are the results!

Before

After

I cleared off the shelf of the coat hook and put everything in the closet.  I left out only those jackets we wear often.  Tools were put in the tool chest, bumper stickers were put on the vehicles, water bowl and towels were put in the truck for pet travel.

Before

After

Leashes, flash light, and doggie trash bags were all collected into a basket on the bottom of the table.  Room was made in the coat closet for the vacuum and reusable grocery bags.

Before

After

I purchased two small baskets ($1 for both at the dollar store).  All the extension cords were put into one and the sunblock, bug repellant, etc. were put in the other.  I put all the old scarves, hats, and gloves we no longer use in the garage for a yard sale.  Chaps, flag, and Willow’s sweater were folded and stacked neatly next to the hand held vac.

Before

After

Although it doesn’t look like it was uncluttered, it was.  I cleared everything out of the bottom of the closet except for our motorcycle boots, which made room for the vacuum.  2 coats were listed for sale on eBay and 4 put in the garage for the yard sale.

After

As were don’t have a broom closet, the coat closet is where we keep the brooms and mops.  I put hooks on the walls to hang everything.  It keeps everything in its place and makes it easier to get the vacuum in and out.

After

Hooks were also added to the inside of the door to hang our hats and the reusable grocery bags.  I love those new hooks that don’t need to be screwed in and can be taken down easily!

Before

After

As the bench was serving no purpose except holding the dog leashes and hiding things under, it was put in the yard sale pile.  Shoes were dumped into the shoe basket, leashes in the leash basket, and Pocket’s carrier was put in the garage for storage, as we rarely use it.  Our whole entry way looks so much bigger now!

As you can tell, I love making use of baskets, both decorative and storage.  They are a great place to gather like things and keep them organized.  Now, when we need sunblock, we don’t have to look in 3 or 4 different places.  It’s all in the same basket.  Extension cords are easy to find, we know where our shoes are, and everything need to take Willow for a walk, day or night, is in one place.

One area down, 15 more to go on the decluttering list!

This entry was posted in declutter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to the uncluttered foyer

  1. Jackie Paulson 1966 says:

    I love it, the before and after. Love your home. I the Cat is so adorable makes the photo’s so alive. Cats are so curious. If I change anything in my house my two fight over marking their territory. LOL Great ideas.

  2. Wow, very nice! It’s such a good feeling of accomplishment to finish jobs like that. And I recognize the boots in the closet ‘before’ pictures: D & I both have the same pair 😉

  3. barb19 says:

    What a difference you have made Shell! Now don’tcha feel good? I’m proud of you! Your home certainly looks great for the de-clutter!
    I love the way Pockets seems to get into most of your pictures, he’s very curious to see what you’ve done!

    • Seashell says:

      He’s very curious about everything! And, he’s a momma’s boy and wants to always be near me, so he’s usually not more than 5 feet away most of the time.

  4. You’ve certainly been having a good sort out!
    We decluttered our garage this week…found an old toilet seat and half a phone…why do we keep such rubbish!
    PiP

    • Seashell says:

      We’re always keeping things “just in case”! I’m guilty of the same thing. I’m trying to be a little more ruthless about what I keep, but I know there’s always more I can toss/sell/donate.

Leave a Reply

