george on a saturday

Right now, I’m listening to George Strait and have been all morning.  It’s a cloudy, overcast day.  A lazy day.

George Strait

As we do a little de-cluttering, and small chores, George helps make it less mundane.  You can’t be in a bad mood with that playing in the back ground.  There’s something about singing along that always makes me smile.

Yes, George Strait is my favorite singer.  I mostly listen to country music, something my daddy listened to when I was growing up though my momma hated it.  I stopped listening to it when I was in my early 20’s, listening to alternative music instead.  I came back to it in my late 20’s.  It’s just…comfortable.

Now, I’m not talking about the crossover music.  That stuff called country where you can’t even hear a fiddle or steel guitar anywhere in the song.  I’m talking George, Conway Twitty, George Jones, Lee Ann Womack, Asleep at the Wheel.  I’m talking country western country music, Texas swing country music.  I’m talking heartbreak songs and momma songs.  Songs about trains, and rain, and divorce and standing by your man.

Lee Ann Womack

Don’t get me wrong.  I like a lot of acts that play the crossover music, but some of the songs are so crossover they don’t deserve to be played on a country music radio station.  But, they are just because the act is considered ‘country’.

George on a Saturday.  It just makes the weekend better!

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

