resurrection and rebirth

The weather yesterday was close to perfect.  I don’t think there could have been a more beautiful day for Easter Sunday!

We expected rain.  We were heading to Baltimore to visit my family.  We had wanted to take the bike, but the Baltimore weather was calling for a 50% chance of thunderstorms and rain.  I don’t have rain gear, so no bike.

When we left the house early yesterday, dew covered the grass, the trees, the bushes, everything.  The yard looked like a wonderland with the sun sparkling on the drops of water.  It was so amazing that I just stopped and stared.  Scuba Man is used to this type of behaviour from me.

I was like that for the 3 hour drive to Baltimore.  I stared out the window the whole time, even though I had brought a book to read.  It seemed we were constantly passing roadside blooms, flowering trees in the mist of nothing but green, clear blue skys, or big puffy clouds.

As Christians, Easter is a celebration of the resurrection of our Saviour, Jesus Christ.  To my non-Christian friends, we Christians believe the resurrection established Jesus as the Son of God.  It is the foundation of our faith.  We believe that we also, through faith, are spiritually resurrected with Jesus so that we may walk in a new way of life.

(I know many do not believe in Jesus, but I do.  I think most people, regardless of what religion or faith they are, believe in a higher being.  I don’t judge which religion or faith is right or wrong.  I have friends of many different faiths and cherish them all.)

Here in the United States, Easter is in spring, sometime between mid-March and the end of April.  It is determined by a lunisoler calendar similar to the Hebrew calendar.  As Easter fell in late April this year, this resurrection celebration coincided with the rebirth of nature.  So very appropriate.

Resurrection and rebirth.  A time of new beginnings.

Here’s to spring and all the new beginnings in our lives.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to resurrection and rebirth

  1. Hi Shell,
    I think it is important believe in something; it’s almost like a moral anchor 🙂

    PiP 8)

  2. LeRoy Dean says:

    Love your stories.

  3. barb19 says:

    As you say, we have to believe in something, otherwise, what is the purpose of life? Like you, I’m a Christian but I have friends of many faiths. Live and let live I say. I had a nice quiet Easter at home – the roads are just too busy at that time of year!
    I can see why you would be mesmerized by the scenes of nature on your drive to Baltimore; spring used to be my favourite time of year when I lived in the UK – seeing everything springing to life again is magic!

  4. Sailor says:

    Beautiful spring flowers. I hope you had a happy Easter. I am not very familiar with wordpress blogs and can you tell me as how do I follow a wordpress blog. In my bloger I can choose the Google friend connect and do it. Is email the only option?

    • Seashell says:

      Hi Sailor! Thanks for stopping by. For most WordPress blogs, you can do email or an RSS feed. I don’t think they use friend connect or any kind of google reader subscription, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

