i got one!

Yes, folks, I got a job offer and accepted it.  It’s not the one I was really hoping for.  I haven’t heard back from that one.

This is for the job that I thought I totally bombed out of at the interview.  Although they came back to the recruiter twice with more questions, I still didn’t think I had the qualifications they needed.

Apparently I was wrong.

I will be working as a contractor.  It’s only supposed to be for 8 months, but it’s something.  I don’t really like doing contracting work, but it will be a job and a pay check.  We will be able to pay the mortgage on the beach house and continue to build our savings.  It furthers our goals and that’s important.

I think I will learn a lot there.  They are using geographical information system mapping software and Oracle Spacial.  I haven’t used either of those before, so it will be a good learning opportunity.

I was going to apply for this soon.

The team manager seems to be a great person.  Like me, coding is his preference.  We both like the back-end database work, the behind the scenes stuff. The only other team member I met was very quiet and I didn’t learn too much about him.

I am apprehensive about it, though, not excited.  Maybe because I don’t think I have all the qualifications they were looking for.  Maybe because I so wanted the other job.  Maybe because I’m not sure I’ll like working down town in an area I am not familiar with.  Maybe it’s just because it’s a new contracting company, a new place, new everything.

But, who knows?  This could turn out to be the most awesome job ever.

I have to go down town tomorrow to get my fingerprints taken.  As soon as my background check is complete, I start.  That shouldn’t take too long.  I could start as early at next week.

Soon, I will begin a new adventure.  That’s always a little scary.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to i got one!

  1. Kristin says:

    Congrats!! I’m sure it’ll be great. And even if it isn’t- it’s a contract job, so you can just keep looking for something else! You’ll get to learn about a new part of town, and that can be exciting.

    I’m so happy that you’ll get to keep the beach house!

  2. Oh WOW SHell congrats!…what would be the icing on the cake now is that if the other company you really liked came back and offered you a job!
    Cheers
    PiP

  3. Congrats, that’s very good news!!!

  4. Brenda says:

    Thats awesome!! Congratulations!

  5. barb19 says:

    Congratulations Shell, I’m so happy for you about the job because it means you can relax a bit regarding your finances – and keep the beach house! A new job is always a bit scary until you get to know the people you work with; you will be fine.
    What would you do if the other place offered you that job – the one your really wanted? It could happen.
    Good luck in whatever you do my friend.

    • Seashell says:

      Thanks Barb. I’m not sure what I would do if the other place offered the job. It’s something I’ve been asking myself. I think if that happens, I will need to sit down and write a list of the pros and cons of both. I wouldn’t like going back on my word to the first place, if it came to that, but I need to do what will be best for me and my family.

  6. Jenny says:

    Oh my gosh, this is fantastic news!! I am so happy for you!! Love you!!

  7. Oh, wow! That’s amazing! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

