what do you want to be when you grow up?

My recent job search has made me realise I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.  Not that I’m ever going to grow up, mind you.

Before I met Scuba Man, I had a plan.  I was going to be a lawyer.  At the time, I was going to school part-time while working full-time.  I had wanted to be a lawyer since I was a little girl and that’s what I was working toward.

Then I fell in love.  I found someone I enjoyed being with, spending time with.  Suddenly, spending 60 – 70 hours a week working as a lawyer didn’t seem very appealing.

I was working in accounting and continued to do so well into our marriage.  Eventually, I got bored with it and went back to school to learn computer programming.

Now, I am bored with that.  Only, I’m not really sure what I want to do next and we have bills to pay, so I’m still going to be doing it.

I love to research.  It was one of the reasons being a lawyer appealed to me so much.  I could sit in the law library for hours and not realise it.  Even now, I love researching new things, although the Internet has made it less challenging.

I think it would be an awesome job to do that type of research for a living.  The ultimate? Being a researcher for a novelist.  Checking out all the details needed to tell the story.  Researching a typical day in a job, or researching a city.  All those things that make the novel credible.  That would be so cool.

I don’t have any idea how one would go about finding that type of job.  I haven’t even figured out how to go about finding a job in a career other than programming.  Yes, I know, research it.  But, until I do…

Is anyone looking for a researcher?  I know someone that’s available.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to what do you want to be when you grow up?

  1. LeRoy Dean says:

    If research is truly what you want to do, then God will show you the way. I pray for direction for you.

  2. I will see what I can find out for you through linkedin.
    The researchers I know research something , then write about it. They get paid so much per word and it’s not much 😦
    Cheers
    PiP

Leave a Reply

