I haven’t been raptured!

Harold Camping, a radio evangelist,  scientifically determined the world would end today, May 21, 2011.

I’m still here.  Should I be scared?

All of my friends are having a fun time with this on Facebook.  How can one scientifically determine a date based on random information?  Camping is the only Bible scholar ever to deduce the date of the death of Jesus, April 1, 33 CE.

Based on this date, he assigned numbers to stand for atonement (5), perfection (10), and heaven (17).  There is obviously a code in the Bible I haven’t broken yet because I don’t understand why these three words and those particular numbers are the key to the date of rapture.

Next is to multiply these numbers and then multiply the result by itself ((5 x 10 x 17) x (5 x 10 x 17)).  Now, we have 722,500.  So, we add 722,500 days to the date of April 1, 33 CE, and we come up with today.

I think I am still here because, according to Camping, the rapture isn’t going to take place until 6:00 PM (18:00) local time.  Because, well, everyone knows time zones existed in Biblical times.

Either that or, I’ve been a very bad girl.

Apparently, there are too many people to be raptured all at the same time, so God has to take them in spurts.

I almost feel sorry for those that believe(d) this man.  Can you imagine the fear these people feel or will feel when 6:01 PM arrives and they are still here on earth?  Yes, that’s an almost.

I read the Bible and honestly, I can’t figure any of this out.  Maybe I’m not scientific enough.  Maybe I’m not devout enough.  I can’t understand the numbers assigned or how atonement, perfection, heaven squared equals today.

But, I’m not at all worried that I’m still here.  Are you?

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I haven’t been raptured!

  1. Brenda says:

    I think the whole thing is funny and just a diversion from what is really important in this world: The Economy, The War, and Jobs. I don’t begrudge anyone their beliefs but …. WOW! This is just nuts! 🙂

  2. I was sound asleep, snuggling with my dog, when I was rudely woken by a car idling in front of the house blaring gospel music….at that point I really did think the world was ending lol I guess if we’re the bad folks that got left behind at least we’re in good company 🙂

  3. As you can tell from yesterday’s blog post, I find this whole Rapture thing to be quite ridiculous. According to the Bible, only God knows when the Rapture is coming, not humans. I worry about the emotional trauma the people who believe this will go through following 6:00 p.m.

  4. It’s still the 21st here so I won’t breath a sigh of relief just yet!

    • Seashell says:

      Go ahead and breathe PiP. No one is missing so it either didn’t happen or we’ll all see each other in hell. I think it’s the former…

  5. barb19 says:

    Well, it’s now 7.40am May 22nd in Australia and I’m still here!

Leave a Reply

