honoring those who gave all

Today is Memorial Day here in the United States.  It is a day to remember those who have sacrificed their lives in defending and serving our country.

It’s very sad that observing Memorial Day has turned into just another 3 day weekend for most Americans.  They forget what the day is for.  They forget to fly the flag at half-staff until noon, if they fly the flag at all.  They forget that it is to honor those who have fallen in service of our country and think that it is to remember any and all dead.

Maybe I am more sensitive about it because of the family connections I have to the military.  My husband served in the army for 11 years.  My brothers-in-law retired from the military, as did one of my cousins.  My nephew served in the Army.  One of my uncles served in the Navy.

In my opinion, the degradation of Memorial Day started when Congress decided to no longer celebrate it on May 30th, but the celebrate it on the last Monday in May, so federal workers could have a three-day weekend.  It lost its meaning.  It became just another long, holiday weekend.  I can’t help but wonder how many kids growing up today really know what the day is about.

For my American readers, 3:00 PM is the National Moment of Remembrance.  Stop and remember all those men and women who gave their lives serving our country to protect your freedom.

Please…

This entry was posted in memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to honoring those who gave all

Leave a Reply

