can I gut it and start all over?

I love our beach house.  It’s just a small cottage, with three bedrooms, two baths, a combination living area, and a kitchen.  But, after 4 years of living here part-time, I want to gut it and start all over.  Well, not totally gut it.

Our tiny kitchen. My hair isn't hiding any of it. It's that small.

The living area and master bedroom are both good size.  The other two bedrooms are fine in size.  The kitchen and bathrooms are way too small.  I have visions of turning it into a 2 bedroom cottage just to enlarge the kitchen and baths.

The house was built to cater to vacationers.  The room sizes, as they are, are perfect.  The kitchen and bathroom sizes don’t really matter when you are here for just a week’s vacation and eat out a lot.  But we don’t do that.

We though about adding a second floor, but since this is where we want to retire, we really don’t want to add any more steps.  Plus, the expense is prohibitive.  We also thought about adding a ten foot extension to the side, but that would also get pretty expensive and we would lose about half of the trees shielding that side of the house.

So, that leaves gutting it and starting all over.  We could put in a wood burning stove…sigh…but I think Scuba Man would nix this idea.  We could enlarge the kitchen to give me more counter space, room for a bigger fridge, and maybe an actual pantry.

I want a claw foot tub in the master bath.  And a separate shower big enough for two.  Also double sinks.  Room to move.  It is so tiny now!  It doesn’t even have a tub, just a shower, toilet, and single sink.  The other bath is normal size, but it wouldn’t hurt to make it a little bigger, too.

Change the colors and I would give up the shower and double sink for this bathroom. This is from HGTV's Rate My Space show.

I would love to put in bigger windows and even move some of them.  I want a farmhouse sink in the kitchen and that would involve putting in a new window since the one I want has a 12 inch back splash.  It would be nice to have one of those green house type windows where I could grow herbs.

I want to paint the walls in the living area white and put wide pine planking on the floors.  I want to tear down the ugly, pre-patterned wallboard in the bedrooms and replace it with regular drywall.

I want a sun porch on the front instead of the deck and a roof top deck.  Our deck gets full sun, so it would be nice to have it covered, with ceiling fans installed, so we could enjoy it more.  I picture it being nothing but sliding glass doors as the walls.

I  would love to eventually have an elevator installed.  When we’re 90 years old, walking up those steps from the car isn’t going to be easy!  A more efficient heating system and tankless water heaters would be nice.

So many plans, so little time and money.    But dreams give us goals to work towards and that’s what we’re doing.

This entry was posted in goals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to can I gut it and start all over?

  1. melsar93 says:

    When I first saw the title, my first thought was you were going to start the blog over. House makes more sense.

  2. All of your ideas sound so lovely! My parents just redid their bathroom, and they had the neatest thing installed. Instead of having tiles or wood on the floor, they got these mats of big pebbles. Light grey grout is in between the pebbles to hold them all in place and make it waterproof. It feels so good on your feet, and it looks awesome!

  3. barb19 says:

    Sounds wonderful – hold onto your dreams Shell!

  4. You are right when you say dreams give us goals. the only boundary dreams have is our imagination 🙂 Hold on to your dreams…
    PiP

Leave a Reply

