put your voting record on Facebook

Justin Amash is a freshman Republic Congressman from Michigan.  He feels strongly about keeping his constituents informed of what the person they elected is doing. 

Congressman Justin Amash (photo from Wikipedia)

Amash is using Facebook as a way to explain how he voted on issues and why he voted that way.  We’re talking serious accountability here.

 He writes his own posts, and publishes any time, day or night, to record his thoughts.  Personally, I find this to be very refreshing. 

 I would like to know why my elected representatives voted the way they did.  We elect these people based on their campaign messages.  If they vote opposite of what they campaigned for, I want to know why.

 Think about it.  If you told your mama you were going to do something that she thought you should do, and then you did the opposite, wouldn’t she want an explanation?

 Why shouldn’t our elected representative be held accountable for what they promise?  I don’t think that is asking too much.  Maybe then we could see who is lying during their campaign. 

 Maybe we would see how many votes are gained by bargaining – you vote this way on my bill and I’ll vote this way on yours, despite the fact my constituents don’t feel the same way as I’m voting.

 Maybe we would understand why a compromise is made on certain issues.  Maybe, maybe, maybe.  But we will probably never know.  I don’t imagine many of our elected representatives want to be held accountable.

 It’s a shame our elected officials, as a group, have the reputation as being liars.  I can’t help but wonder if our founding fathers were thought of the same way.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to put your voting record on Facebook

  1. Polititions Shell are well known for making false promises to get our votes. I don’t have to worry in Portugal. We’ve just had an election and I understand only 43% of people bothered to vote. Seems like the Portuguese man in the street has heard it all before…

    • Seashell says:

      We don’t get that high of a percentage of people voting either. How sad that most people don’t exercise their right to vote, even if it’s for the lesser of two evils.

  2. We just had the primaries for State Senate elections and only 25% of my town turned out. Of course, this is a much higher percentage than in other towns and most of the candidates were uncontested, but it still frustrates me that people wouldn’t want to fulfill their civic duty.

    • Seashell says:

      I so agree! Voting is a privilege. People won’t get out and vote, but take that right away and they’ll all be complaining they can’t vote.

Leave a Reply

