I really got excited today!

When we lived in Texas, we had a Sago Palm in our front garden.  I loved it!  When we visited Houston last year, we drove by our old house just so I could see how big it had gotten.

Ours is much smaller than this.

When we bought the beach house 4 years ago, we went to the local plant nursery and I bought a potted Sago.  I wanted it to grow big enough that we could put it in our front yard there.

Sagos are not actually palm trees.  They are really like conifers, pine trees.  They will live in all kinds of weather, so I know it will grow fine at the beach.

It didn’t work out as I had planned.  The plant died.  I shouldn’t have been surprised.  I do have a hard time keeping plants alive.  My momma called it a brown thumb and I inherited it from her.

Last year, when I was grocery shopping, I saw a Sago on sale in the flower department.  It was reduced in price, so I picked it up on a whim.  It has sat on our mantel here in Richmond ever since.

It has been there for more than a year and the leaves are turning a bit brown.  I thought they were dying off and that I would have another dead plant.

This afternoon as I was watering my plants, I saw that my Sago had grown 3 new leaves!  I was so excited!  For me, this is big!

By the end of summer, the leaves will have turned hard and the palm will be that much more sturdy.  It’s just a matter of years before it’s big enough to replant at our home at the beach.

It’s just one of those simple things that makes me happy.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I really got excited today!

  1. barb19 says:

    I love Sago Palms too shell.
    Looks like this one is surviving if it has new leaves coming – yaaaaay for you! You might end up with a green thumb yet and prove your mom wrong!

    • Seashell says:

      Believe it or not, the only plant that I’ve been able to keep alive for any length of time is a peace plant (not sure what the real name is) that was sent when my momma passed more than 6 years ago. It’s come close to dying more than once and always comes back to life. Despite her supposedly brown thumb, I think she’s helping me from above with that one!

Leave a Reply

