I’ve been watching life flight too often

I work right across the street from the Medical College of Virginia.  For the last few afternoons, while waiting for the bus, the life flight helicopter has landed on the helipad on the roof.

It feels like it’s an everyday occurrence any more.  That’s kind of sad.  Medical emergencies are usually not happy.

My dad had an accident when I was in my early 20’s and was taken to the shock trauma unit via a life flight helicopter.  It was scary.  No one in the family could go on the flight with him.  There I was, driving in down town Baltimore to a hospital I had never been to before, at night, scared to death that my dad wouldn’t make it.

I remember the ambulance arriving at the house, the EMTs examining my dad and calling for the copter because he had hit his head very hard.  There was excitement in the neighborhood when the helicopter landed in the school yard across the street.  Everyone was out of their houses, milling around even though it was after midnight, most likely asking each other what was going on.  Things like that just didn’t happen in our neighborhood.

I remembered the EMTs giving me hurried directions to the hospital and me hardly being able to follow them.  I know we got lost getting there.  Once there, it took a while to find out where my dad was and what was happening.  It was such a long night.

These are the things I think about when I watch that helicopter land.  I don’t really think about the patient being transported.  MCV is an excellent hospital and I know they will get the best care possible.

I think about the families and what they are going through.  I think about them arriving at the hospital in a panic and the hours of waiting they probably will have to endure.  I think about the endless days and weeks, possibly years, that their lives will be affected because of some medical emergency bad enough to need life flight.

Then, I thank God for the EMTs, helicopter crew, doctors and nurses that saved my dad’s life.

This entry was posted in just a normal day, memories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve been watching life flight too often

  1. It takes a personal life experience just as you had to value the works of these people and their significance in saving lives. A lot of people sadly still takes them for granted. I know that for a fact cause I’ve been in the E.R. field for 8 years. patient ‘s and their families who came close to a life and death situations are the most grateful . People don’t realize how a simple thank you or even a hug boost the morale of the medical professionals. Everyday they too put their life at stake for the things they do. Last year, an a young man I used to work with died on a emergency flight mission, he was only in his mid-30’s. I’m glad you posted a tribute to these men and women who are just as human as you and me.

    • Seashell says:

      They are heroes to me. The E.R. doctors and nurses, and EMT/life flight crews don’t do it for the money, they do it to help people. It’s cache to say it’s a noble profession, but it truly is and I am always grateful to those medical professionals.

Leave a Reply

