flea markets, green markets, and naps

yummy!!!

It has been such an enjoyable Saturday.

When Scuba Man and I first married, we enjoyed going to the local flea market just a few short blocks away from our first home.  It was a huge market with lots of vendors and was a cheap way to spend a Saturday morning, mostly because we didn’t buy much of anything.

We saw in the paper that a new market had opened at the local race track, so we went there this morning.  We were both disappointed.  First, there were very few vendors.  I don’t think there were even a dozen.  Second, it looked like they were mostly selling junk.

The tie dye t-shirt place looked promising, but they didn’t have anything in my size in the colors I like.  😦  Guess I’ll need to tie dye a few myself.

Maybe we have out grown flea markets as entertainment, other than to go and laugh at what people try to sell these days.  Who really wants to buy faded fabric purses or used fingernail polish?  We had a much more successful experience with our next stop.

I love Farmer's Markets!

Our community started a green market at the local shopping area.  Now that was fun.  We bought tomatoes, zucchini, yellow squash, onions, and jalapeños.  Watch out for home-made pico- de-gallo and a stir fry sometime soon.

We picked up a loaf of garlic and basil bread to dip for the pico.  We also tried the organic beef place for some ground beef and andouille sausage.  Not sure we’ll like that as we usually stick to grass-fed beef and this is corn-fed.  The guy tried really hard to convince us of the benefits of corn-fed versus grass-fed beef.  I have my doubts, but maybe that’s just because of what I’m used to eating.

Once we got home, lethargy took over and I settled on the sofa for a nap.  It was a longer nap than I expected.  Scuba Man didn’t wake me because he thought I needed the sleep.  I was up twice last night with Willow, who had an upset stomach and couldn’t hold anything down.  Poor baby.  I hope it was something she ate, not that she’s getting sick.

I have a roast in the crock pot and acorn squash in the oven.  Looking forward to this new concoction I made for the roast with horseradish, sour cream, and some spices.  As Scuba Man calls it, another one of my experiments.  He tasted hundreds and is very rarely disappointed.

We’ll probably spend the rest of this day relaxing, watching a movie or two.  I need to rest up for a productive tomorrow!

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to flea markets, green markets, and naps

  1. melsar93 says:

    Let me know how the Roast turns out. Sounds great.

    • Seashell says:

      The roast turned out awesome. I think the cayenne pepper in the horseradish sauce gave it a little extra something. I’m glad we had leftovers!

  2. barb19 says:

    Walking round markets always tires me out (must be all the fresh air lol); indulging in a nap after you got home sounds wonderful and I’m glad Scuba man didn’t wake you – he is such a thoughtful hubby!
    Hope Willow isn’t getting sick.

Leave a Reply

