inspiration, ballet, tabs, and drills

I have been really uninspired to write the last few months.  It’s from the lack of downtime, I think.  I’ve always gotten my inspiration for writing when I have had a little time alone.  There isn’t much of that in my life any more.  Between working/commuting, taking care of the house and animals, sorting through the clutter for giving to charity or selling, and trying to find time to exercise, I don’t have much time alone to just think.  When I am alone, I’m usually doing chores and the animals are around demanding attention.  They are so centered on momma that I can’t even go to the bathroom without finding both sitting outside the door when I come out.  How did that happen?

Speaking of exercising, I started doing a ballet workout this week.  I used to dance, way back before Scuba Man, and I loved it.  It really kept me in shape.  As usual, life got in the way of something I enjoyed doing and I stopped taking classes.  I dug out my New York City Ballet exercise video and started using it.  It feels good, although it has aggravated my foot again and I am back to taping it up.  It’s unnatural to do ballet exercises wearing arch support shoes!

I am really far behind on my blog reading!  I try to keep up with my blogging buddies posts, but even that has become a struggle.  But I will get to them all eventually!  I am way far behind on the other blogs I subscribe to, such as financial and minimalism blogs.  I haven’t been spending as much time on the computer as I did before.

Scuba Man introduced me to guitar tabs a few days ago.  I had never really paid attention to them before or used them.  Now I know what I’ve been missing!  It makes learning a new song so much easier.  I know there are some people who think using tabs is cheating, or the easy way out, but since I play only for myself, I don’t care what other people think.  Then again, I pretty much feel like that about everything in my life.

It’s a beautiful, but cloudy morning at the beach.  It’s going to be a busy weekend.  I need to clean and we have the windows to work on.  We are taking down the blinds that have been up since we bought the place and replacing them with curtains.  The rental company we used liked the houses to have blinds because they were easier to clean, but since we are no longer renting it out, we can do what we want.  So, our aim is to take down the blinds, get the windows washed, new curtain rods put up, and hang the curtains.  This all depends on how easy it is to get the rods up, as we forgot to being the drill down with us.  Let’s hope we don’t need it.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to inspiration, ballet, tabs, and drills

  1. Sometimes it is really difficult to fit everything in! I think ballet is beautiful I used to love the music. I was never graceful myself but it is a lovely way not only to exercise but to lose yourself in the music. Hope you are enjoying the beach and nice to hear you are taking time out to relax!

    PiP

  2. Kristin says:

    I’m excited for you with the ballet workout! Try doing it barefoot or in socks, and that should be better for your feet.

  3. Seashell says:

    I thought of you when I dug out that video! Maybe once I lose a few pounds, I’ll look into classes. I have been doing it in my bare feet and that’s the problem…no arch support. So, I’ll just keep taping it and hope for the best.

  4. Kristin says:

    Try rolling your foot over a tennis ball after working out- that should help loosen up the arch muscles.

  5. melsar93 says:

    I know what you mean about trying to stay caught up on blogs. With summer in full swing I don’t spend as much time in front of the computer. I figure that here in Minnesota I will catch up eventually, after all Winter is coming.

  6. Yikes, me dogs wait for me outside the bathroom door too! And ballet? I took ballet for almost 10 years, kind of got out of it after I graduated from high school. Not sure if my old-person knee and back could handle it at this point anyhow 😉

  7. Ballet sounds wonderful! I hope putting up the blinds went well!

Leave a Reply

