the attraction

It’s a cloudy morning here at the beach.  Getting ready for the telecommute day, Scuba Man and I are at opposite ends of the dining room table with four computers between us.  We are  geeks.

It rained here over night but it did nothing to cool it off.  This weekend, the weather was too hot and humid to even want to be outside.  It didn’t feel that much better after the sun went down.  It was not a weekend to actually hang out on the beach.

But just being here, being able to see and hear the ocean, soothes the soul.  I’m not sure what it is about the ocean that attracts me.  Why, no matter what mood I’m in, the ocean can make me happy, make me feel at peace.

Is it the sheer power of the water?  Is it the sheer continuity?  The knowing that it will always be there, with the tides coming in and going out?

What is it that makes the ocean attract so many people?

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to the attraction

  1. LeRoy Dean says:

    Having “sailed the seven seas”, I might be partial. The sea is so vast, so independent of man…telling us of God’s creating powers. Have a Great day, Seashell.

  2. No idea but I’m having withdrawl…still haven’t been to the beach yet this year 😦

  3. barb19 says:

    The ocean affects me the same way Shell – watching it soothes my soul and I feel at peace with the world. The power of the ocean makes mere man insignificant – it can wipe us away in a second, but the tides keep it under control. I think that’s what attracts me to it – it’s power.

  4. melsar93 says:

    Better folks than me have tried to figure out the allure of the Big Blue. I just know that I will be on the beach for a few days later this month. I am going to try and appreciate it more than last time and have a nice slow vacation.

  5. For me, it just feels like the most happy, peaceful place on earth.

  6. Pingback: 08/30/11 The Storm, The Beach, and My Dad | Back Seat View

Leave a Reply

