what happened to the time?

Where did it go?  It’s already the middle of August!

I find it hard to believe that kids will be starting back to school soon and that summer is almost over.  It seems like we were just on vacation.  It seems like I just started my ‘new’ job.  But all of that was 3 months ago!

I finally cleared off my desk enough to put my laptop on it.  This has resulted in me spending less time on my computer.  Now, mostly when I’m on it, it’s to take care of bills and the budget, sometimes read the news and try to get caught up on blogs I read.  I still have some buddy blogs to read from the end of July forward, non-buddy personal finance and minimalism blogs from the beginning of July!

But, my house is slowly getting decluttered.  More than half of the smallest bedroom has been sorted through and a lot of things thrown away, given to the charity shop, and many books set aside to give to the local library’s book sale.

I’ve been slowly working on my office also.  In smaller spurts than the bedroom, but it’s  starting to look like an office again.  There’s room on my desk for both my personal laptop and my work laptop.  I’ve got a tiny pile of documents to scan and shred.  I want to get rid of as much paper as possible and store everything on my computer.

Since we’re thinking about downsizing in the next 5 years or so, from this huge 4 bedroom 2,400 sq.ft. home to a 3 bedroom 1,500 sq.ft. home, space will be at a premium.  We won’t have a garage, or a craft room, or an attic, or a formal living room, or a formal dining room.  We won’t have linen closets or a coat closet.

I look at “stuff” now as ‘do I really want to keep it?’  Some things I have kept because the house would look to empty without if now and we do have to live here for the next 5 or so years.  Some stuff is sentimental.  It belonged to my mama, or my gramps, or it’s from our wedding.  I will eventually end up taking pictures of some of this stuff and giving it away.

I being ruthless about it.  I’m asking Scuba Man to help too.  Not with the actual clearing out, but taking stuff that is his and asking him if he wants to keep it.  He’s gotten rid of some things too!  Plus, my wonderful husband is the muscles behind hauling the boxes and bags to the charity shop.

So for all of my wonderful blogging buddies, I AM still reading your blogs, albeit slowly.  I do want to try to get back to posting more often, too.  I can’t promise anything though.

Y’all have a nice weekend.  I’m off to sort through more stuff in my office and small bedroom!

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to what happened to the time?

  1. Hey Shell,
    No worries. We have family with us at the moment and I’m spoiling thems a bit – plus have more family arriving next Saturday including my little granddaughter 🙂 I am also spending more time in the pool or at the beach. Winter is the time to blog more. Now is the time for living 🙂
    Glad to read you are decluttering, it helps – we decluttered when we came to Portugal. My garage is now completely full again and cupboards and draws are stuffed to capacity and I’ve even invested in plastic boxes for under the bed. i have decided I’m a compulsive hoarder!!

    Have you been taken on permantely at your new job?

    All the best
    PiP

    • Seashell says:

      Haven’t been taken on full time, but they are talking about extending the contract, which would be good. I hate looking for another job so I hope they do!

  2. Kristin says:

    I’m all about de-cluttering! I have to in my tiny apartment, and I’ve spent a lot of my free time organizing things. I guess that’s one of the perks of being Funemployed- TIME!

    I’m dangling a pretty new Ikea wardrobe in my face as a reward for going through my clothes and getting rid of stuff I don’t need/wear anymore. So liberating!

    Glad to have you back online! I miss your posts!

    • Seashell says:

      Thanks Kristin! It feels good to be back. I went through more stuff today, listing things on eBay and have 4 boxes of books to donate! Such happiness…

  3. barb19 says:

    I’ve missed you Shell!
    De-cluttering gives you such a “feel good” kinda feeling, it’s good for the soul; it also seems to de-clutter the mind, so it has to be good!
    I’m proud of you Shell, you have a 5 year vision and are starting to put it into practice NOW! They say there is no time like the present and it’s so true.
    I will be away myself for all of September as we are going to the UK for a month to visit family and friends, and will be too busy to post on here. However, be prepared for when I return!

  4. It sounds like your project is going really well! Go, Shell!

Leave a Reply

