on sleeping in, motivation, and books

Scuba Man let me sleep in today, until 8:30.  Last night, he said he was going to let me sleep until I woke up naturally, but his excuse this morning was Willow.  She kept bugging him for something, so he said “show me”.  She took him over to the gate at the bottom of the stairs.  When he moved it, she ran upstairs and stood at the bedroom door, wagging her tail.  He opened the door and she jumped up on the bed and started giving me puppy kisses.  Not a bad way to wake up!

Yesterday was such a productive day!  I listed some stuff on eBay, got together 4 more boxes of books to donate to the public library’s used book sale, and 2 bags of things for the charity shop.  I’ve only got a bit more to do in the smallest bedroom and I’ll be finished with it!  I’m so excited about that.  Some of the boxes that were stored in that room were still sealed from the move into this house.  That was more than 6 years ago!  Almost all of that was put in the donation boxes, except for the books we really wanted to keep.

Today, I’m feeling rather unmotivated.  Maybe it’s because I haven’t fully woken up yet.  I’m still on my first cup of coffee.  But the progress I made yesterday is seeming to egg me on.  My mind is saying “You could finish that room today!”  Somehow I think the motivation will win out.

It’s a rainy Sunday and I think that is helping to unmotivate me.  Rainy weekends are perfect for curling up on the sofa and reading a good book.  I love to read and just don’t make enough time for it.  It’s my favorite pastime.

Reading is like travelling to another time, another world.  I become very involved in a good book.  It feels like I know the characters personally, some as friends, some as enemies, some just as acquaintances.  I laugh and smile and cry when I read.  There are times when I finish a good book that I feel like I’ve lost friends.

One of the hardest things for me, with the decluttering, is getting rid of books.  Ask anyone who loves to read and they will tell you it’s not an easy thing to do, even if you’ve read the book.  I have had some books for years that I haven’t yet read but still keep, telling myself I will get around to reading them.  But if I haven’t read them yet, will I in the future?  These are the books that are on the three sets of shelves in my office.  It’s going to be one of those things where I have to look at each book carefully and ask myself “Have I not read it yet because I’m not sure it will interest me or have I not read it yet because I truly haven’t had time?”

If you love to read as I do, is it hard for you to get rid of books?

This entry was posted in declutter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to on sleeping in, motivation, and books

  1. barb19 says:

    Oh yes Shell, I find it extremely hard to get rid of books – it drives the hub crazy! What to do? I have tried – and succeeded to give some of my old and read paperbacks away the last time we moved, but it was very painful! I can’t bear to part with my hard-backed books, even though I’ve read most of them. I still have my old books from college – 47 years ago! How can I part with those?

    • Seashell says:

      When my mama passed, my daddy gave me 20 boxes of books that were hers. I’m the only one that inherited her love of reading. I ended up donating almost all of them, as they were romance books, which I don’t read. They were easy to get rid of. Unfortunately, my husband understands as he keeps a lot of his books also!

  2. Getting rid of books is so HARD. I just keep amassing more and more–the joys of an excellent local bookstore and college women’s club book sales–and I’ve completely run out of shelf space! It’s hard to believe, but we’ve got seventeen full sized bookshelves in our house.

Leave a Reply

