elvis, john wayne, and star trek

Today is the anniversary of the death of Elvis.  I was never much of an Elvis fan.  I don’t know why, I just never was.  I didn’t even want to listen to his music.  But Scuba Man is, somewhat.  He taught me to appreciate Elvis’s voice, something I never thought about before.  He is right, Elvis had an awesome voice.  It makes a difference in how I listen to an Elvis song.  I’ve even caught myself singing along to some!  I’m still not a big Elvis fan, but at least I can appreciate his songs instead of cringing when I hear one.

John Wayne, to me, was just my mama’s favorite actor.  I never paid that much attention to him or his movies.  My husband is a big John Wayne fan.  He always talked about what a generous person he was and how he always stood his ground for what he believed in.  There have been lots of “Did you know that John Wayne…” sentences over the years.  All the things Scuba Man was saying got me interested in seeing his movies and I, too, have become a John Wayne fan.

Which leads us to Star Trek.  I never used to be a Trekkie.  I hated Star Trek.  The acting was so bad!  I thought Kirk was a Neanderthal, always getting the female just because he’s top dog.  Add to that the way he seems to always grab them, as if by force.  But,  thanks to it being on TV a lot, I have slowly become a Trekkie.  Seriously.  Before bed, I am happiest if we sit down and turn on a DVD of the original series or of Enterprise, which is my fav of all the Star Trek series.  I still think there was some pretty bad acting in the original series and it gives me a good laugh when we watch it, but there is always a lesson to be learned in every episode.

My husband has never tried to turn me into a fan of Elvis, John Wayne, or Star Trek.  Rather, over the course of time, he has explained to me why he likes each of them.  What he said about each rang true and I gave each another thought.  It made me see things differently.

It’s amazing how you can change a person without even trying.

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to elvis, john wayne, and star trek

  1. Very true, that’s how I ended up on the back of the bike 😀

    • Seashell says:

      It was just the opposite for us. I was the one who wanted a bike, and for the first 15 years of our marriage he said no way! Now he loves it so much he even rides it to work when it’s nice out.

      • That’s funny! D rode years ago, long before I met him, and then the interest in getting a bike popped up late in 2008. He rides in any weather other than snow and/or ice, does 250 miles a week on his commute to work alone!

Leave a comment