let’s go natural

I want to get away from eating processed foods and start eating only natural foods.  I don’t think this will be easy.  Hotdogs are a quick go to food when we forget to get something out of the freezer for dinner.  Will I even be able to find regular bacon made without preservatives other than salt?

In the long run, eating like this will make me healthier.  I eat food stuff that I couldn’t even tell you what is in it.  Have you ever even looked at the ingredients in cereal?  If it’s not organic, there’s no telling what some of the ingredients are.  Do we really want to be putting that in our bodies?

I know myself well enough to know I can’t do this all at once, so I have decided to start with breakfast.  I am going to try to make my breakfasts all natural.  I bought some organic greek yogurt and I found some good recipes for scones.  I can also do pancakes made from scratch, or bake muffins, or even have organic eggs.  When I started to think about it, I realized breakfast isn’t going to be that hard.  It will take me time to bake scones or muffins, but I can find 30 minutes or so 1 or 2 times a week to bake.  I love to bake anyway!

I’m starting this today.  I’ll keep you posted on how it’s working!  Will I have the willpower to make this work?  Can I really give up processed foods?  Only time will tell….

This entry was posted in just a normal day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to let’s go natural

  1. barb19 says:

    I’ve been thinking along the same lines Shell; we put so much rubbish into our bodies and don’t even know what it is, or what it’s doing to us.
    I’ll be following your journey with a keen interest, so please keep us updated. I wish you luck!

  2. Hi Shell, Good luck with your quest.
    We never had a choice about eating more healthily when we moved to Portugal because I could not read the cooking instructions on the ready meals and alot of things like stuffing for turkey I had to learn to make myself from scratch.
    I now use lots of Olive oil and sunflower oil to cook with rather than lard. I use real butter rather than all this chemical equivs that are meant to be good for you, we eat loads of fish and chicken, and have tried to cut our intake of redmeat down to once a week.
    I hate all the chemicals they put in food…as I say good luck eat simply and enjoy!
    PiP

  3. Best of luck! I eat almost entirely natural foods (with the exception of gummy bears), and it’s a lot easier than you would think. If you’re looking for an easy snack, you should try LARA Bars. They’re delicious, completely natural, and the only ingredients are dates, some type of nut, and often dried fruit. I eat at least one a day.

Leave a Reply

