my favorite reader

“You should have been a writer instead of a computer geek. You are so good at it! Love you sis.”

When I saw that posted on my Facebook wall, I almost had tears in my eyes.  My sister, RB, had written it.  She’s my older sister and we’ve always been close.  To hear that from her, someone who I have looked up to my whole life, made me feel so good inside!

There is a Carly Simon song “Older Sister” that reminds me so much of her.  When I was a child, I wanted to be just like her.  I wanted to dress like her, listen to the music she listened to, hang with her and her friends.  When I had a problem and need to talk to an “adult”, it was always her I turned to.

When she left home, at age 18, I was devastated.  I still remember her moving out and me standing there crying.  I knew I would still see her, but I wanted to see her ever day!  I wanted her to live home, not somewhere that I had to go visit her.  I wasn’t near old enough to drive.  How was I going to see here every day?  I needed her with me!

She literally married the boy next door.  I was so happy that they got married.  He was and still is the big brother I never had.  He was in the army and was stationed in Washington state.  They were moving all the way across the U.S.  I was never going to see my sister again!

I survived.  I survived all the traveling they had to do for the army.  When they were close enough for me to drive to visit, I would, as often as I could.  When I married Scuba Man, we bought a house just 20 minutes away from them.  It was so awesome being that close! 

Eventually though, we moved to Texas.  This time I was the one to leave.  It wasn’t any easier, being the one to leave her.

She came to visit a few times.  She was there when I had surgery, to take care of me.  We stayed with her almost every time we went back east.  Eventually, we moved back east ourselves and settled in a house about 1 1/2 hours from her.   We’re still in that house.

Although we don’t see each other or talk to each other as often as we would like, it’s a comfort to me knowing she’s close.  She’s my sister and my best friend.  How lucky can a girl get?

This entry was posted in memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to my favorite reader

  1. LeRoy Dean says:

    Touching encounter. Smiling for you! 🙂

  2. barb19 says:

    It was touching to read how you felt about your sister Shell, I can see you are very special to each other, and that’s nice to see. Stay as close as you are.

  3. You are so lucky! My sister is 7yrs younger than me and we do NOT get on at all. 😦

  4. Mona says:

    Shell, I love you so much. You are my best friend and we are still very close and always will be. I cannot wait to see you again. I miss you.

    • Seashell says:

      You’ll see me soon – we’ll be celebrating the birth of your granddaughter and my grandniece! This is probably going to be the last “grand”… I love you!!!! Thank you so very much for sharing you kids with me! 🙂

  5. I wish Pippa and I could be that close. Your relationship sounds so lovely.

Leave a Reply

